Giger races to victory ahead of teammate Lindgren

Fabien Giger and Tereza Hurikova won the category HC Otztaler Mountain Bike Festival race on Sunday in Austria. It was a wet day on a slippery 4.7km course.

Giger crossed the line in 1:42:27, 11 seconds ahead of his Rabobank-Giant teammate Emil Lindgren and 40 seconds ahead of third placed finisher Jukka Vastaranta.

In the women's race, Tereza Hurikova (Sabine Spitz Haibike) finished in 1:25:41. Elisabeth Osl crossed the line alone in second at 1:16 while Ekaterina Anoshina finished third at 3:13.

After the first of five laps, Hurikova was off the front with Osl and Blaza Klemencic. The Czech leader only extended her lead from then onward.

"It is fantastic after my World Cup frustration of last weekend. This is an important confirmation that my form is right. Conditions were demanding and the course and cold weahter too.

Olympic champion Sabine Spitz had been near the front on lap 1, but a crash after hitting a slippery root and sliding into a tree set her back on what proved to be a tough day. "It took two laps to find my rhythmn, she said. "I'm just glad nothing worse happened to me and I got a few points I can take home with me."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Fabian Giger (Swi)1:42:27
2Emil Lindgren (Swe)0:00:11
3Jukka Vastaranta (Fin)0:00:40
4Karl Markt (Aut)0:01:26
5Uwe Hochenwarter (Aut)0:01:33
6Michal Lami (Svk)0:03:00
7Daniel Mcconnell (Aus)0:03:18
8Severin Disch (Swi)0:03:42
9Pierre-Geoffroy Plantet (Fra)0:04:12
10Alban Lakata (Aut)0:04:30
11Sepp Freiburghaus (Swi)0:05:13
12Adam Craig (USA)0:05:28
13Klaus Nielsen (Den)0:05:35
14Daniel Eymann (Swi)0:05:39
15Chris Jongewaard (Aus)0:05:59
16Giancarlo Sax (Swi)0:07:04
17Benjamin Wittrup Justesen (Den)0:07:23
18Daniel Geismayr (Aut)0:07:35
19Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus)0:07:55
20Hans Becking (Ned)0:08:08
21Simon Scheiber (Aut)0:08:23
22Michael Broderick (USA)0:09:00
23Gilles Sarrazin (Fra)0:09:14
24Benjamin Sonntag (Ger)0:12:25
25Paul Remy (Fra)0:13:36
26Tim Wynants (Bel)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Simon Seehofer (Aut)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Christian Moitzi (Aut)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Martin Foger (Aut)Row 28 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tereza Hurikova (Cze)1:25:41
2Elisabeth Osl (Aut)0:01:16
3Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus)0:03:13
4Blaza Klemencic (Slo)0:03:39
5Sabine Spitz (Ger)0:04:41
6Rosara Joseph (NZl)0:05:28
7Mary Mcconneloug (USA)0:05:59
8Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut)0:08:24
9Rebecca Henderson (Aus)0:14:00
10Aurélia Perry (Fra)0:15:50
11Inbar Ronen (Isr)0:18:01
12Marion Azam (Fra)0:18:53
13Johanne Brustad (Nor)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Tina Kindlhofer (Aut)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Viktoria Zeller (Aut)Row 14 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
U23 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Timofei Ivanov (Rus)1:32:19
2Matthias Stirnemann (Swi)0:01:00
3Lukas Loretz (Swi)0:01:30
4Fabien Doubey (Fra)0:04:07
5Sondre Kristiansen (Nor)0:04:43
6Pieter Geluykens (Bel)0:05:00
7Markus Preiss (Aut)0:05:33
8Loic Doubey (Fra)0:06:01
9Titouan Perrin Ganier (Fra)0:06:23
10Mark Kuyan (Rus)0:06:51
11Ivan Smirnov (Rus)0:07:29
12Robi Sujevic (Cro)0:09:08
13Sturla Aune (Nor)0:09:25
14Anton Liyubuy (Ukr)0:09:40
15Jonas Loretz (Swi)0:10:37
16Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut)0:11:24
17Rico Von Burg (Swi)0:12:02
18Truls Engen Korsaeth (Nor)0:12:12
19Christoph Mick (Aut)0:12:27
20Sanjin Sirotic (Cro)0:13:32
21Urban Ferencak (Slo)0:14:24
22Rok Korosec (Slo)0:14:53
23Frantisek Lami (Svk)0:15:13
24Matthias Grick (Aut)0:16:24
25Charly Sibille (Fra)0:17:22
26Andreas Fuchs (Aut)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Matteo Olivotto (Ita)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Mykhaylo Batsutsa (Ukr)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Vitus Wagenbauer (Ger)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Vadim Arko (Aut)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Eric Polansek (Aut)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Roland Gantner (Aut)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Johannes Ernst (Aut)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Philipp Heigl (Aut)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Simon Plakolb (Aut)Row 34 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews