Sierra wins women's Tour of Guangxi

Cuban sprinter Arlenis Sierra (Astana Women's Team) won the final race of the 2018 UCI Women's WorldTour, sprinting to victory in the Tour of Guangxi ahead of Hannah Barnes (Canyon-SRAM) and Sara Mustonen (Experza-Footlogix).

The 145.8-kilometre race consisted of three parts: The first 86 kilometres were practically flat, containing the first of two intermediate sprints. A hilly section with two mountain sprints (third and second category) was then followed by another flat 30km including the second intermediate sprint before the finish in Guilin.

In fog and rain, Chinese rider Yue Bai (China Liv) was the only one to attempt an early breakaway but did not get further away than 100 metres and was reeled in again soon. The peloton reached the first intermediate sprint after 40km together, and Chiara Consonni (Valcar PBM) beat Tanja Erath (Canyon-SRAM) to the line for two sprint points and a $1000 prime.

Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank tried to get a break going. Brodie Chapman was 12 seconds ahead for a short while but was caught again quickly.

When the race reached the hills, Mitchelton-Scott took charge and set a hard pace in order to drop some of the sprinters. The quartet of Katia Ragusa (BePink), Alison Jackson (Team Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank), Winanda Spoor (WNT Rotor), and Xi Sha Zhao (China Liv) went up the road on the lower slopes of the climb. They briefly held a gap of 17 seconds before being caught by Mitchelton-Scott who launched Lucy Kennedy themselves.

Kennedy won the third-category mountain sprint and was joined by Elena Pirrone (Astana Women's Team) in the descent. The two increased their gap to almost a minute at the second-category mountain sprint. This was again won by Kennedy who takes home a total of $4000 for her exploits.

Behind the front duo, the size of the peloton had been reduced significantly to just over 30 riders of the 71 that started the race. In the foggy and technical descent, Tatiana Guderzo (BePink) and Alena Amialiusik (Canyon-SRAM) got away from the bunch and caught up with Kennedy and Pirrone. But the peloton was only fifteen seconds behind by that point and closed the remaining gap at the bottom of the descent.

Jackson won the second intermediate sprint ahead of Georgia Williams (Mitchelton-Scott). Since Consonni had been dropped in the hills, Jackson won the sprint classification and a total of $3000.

The pouring rain did not discourage attacks from riders who wanted to anticipate a mass sprint. Kennedy and Chapman went on the move again just after the intermediate sprint and were joined by Tetyana Riabchenko (Doltcini-Van Eyck) and Dalia Muccioli (Valcar PBM). But this break was short-lived, too, and caught with 15 km to go.

In the finishing straight in Guilin, Amialiusik led out Barnes who looked like a certain winner only to be passed by Arlenis Sierra in the final metres. In Sierra's slipstream, Mustonen sprinted to third place.

The final round of the UCI Women's WorldTour did not cause big changes in the overall rankings. Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) wins the UCI Women's WorldTour overall classification while the youth ranking is topped by Sierra's teammate Sofia Bertizzolo.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's Team3:40:12
2Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 1 - Cell 2
3Sara Mustonen (Swe) Experza - FootlogixRow 2 - Cell 2
4Georgia Williams (NZl) Mitchelton ScottRow 3 - Cell 2
5Karalina Savenka (Blr) Minsk Cycling ClubRow 4 - Cell 2
6Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5Row 5 - Cell 2
7Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5Row 6 - Cell 2
8Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar PBMRow 7 - Cell 2
9Elena Pirrone (Ita) Astana Women's TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Alison Jackson (Can) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 9 - Cell 2
11Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 10 - Cell 2
12Olga Zabelinskaya (Uzb) Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling TeamRow 11 - Cell 2
13Bryony Van Velzen (Ned) Doltcini - Van Eyck Sport Uci Women Cycling0:00:03
14Dexiang Liu (Chn) China Liv Pro CyclingRow 13 - Cell 2
15Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) BePinkRow 14 - Cell 2
16Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton ScottRow 15 - Cell 2
17Alice Cobb (GBr) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 16 - Cell 2
18Taisa Naskovich (Blr) Minsk Cycling ClubRow 17 - Cell 2
19Tetiana Riabchenko (Ukr) Doltcini - Van Eyck Sport Uci Women CyclingRow 18 - Cell 2
20Karina Kasenova (Rus) Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling TeamRow 19 - Cell 2
21Shoko Kashiki (Jpn) Team IlluminateRow 20 - Cell 2
22Nastassia Kiptsikava (Blr) Minsk Cycling ClubRow 21 - Cell 2
23Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Valcar PBMRow 22 - Cell 2
24Brodie Chapman (Aus) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 23 - Cell 2
25Anastasiya Dzedzikava (Blr) Minsk Cycling ClubRow 24 - Cell 2
26Sarah Rijkes (Aut) Experza - FootlogixRow 25 - Cell 2
27Alessia Vigilia (Ita) Valcar PBMRow 26 - Cell 2
28Anna Potokina (Rus) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - Alurecycling0:00:07
29Lex Albrecht (Can) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 28 - Cell 2
30Edwige Pitel (Fra) Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling TeamRow 29 - Cell 2
31Wu Peixiao (Chn) China Liv Pro Cycling0:00:10
32Lucy Kennedy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott0:00:12
33Francesca Pattaro (Ita) BePink0:00:20
34Kathryn Buss (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 33 - Cell 2
35Mieke Docx (Bel) Doltcini - Van Eyck Sport Uci Women Cycling0:07:42
36Kendall Ryan (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley BankRow 35 - Cell 2
37Winanda Spoor (Ned) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Asja Paladin (Ita) Valcar PBMRow 37 - Cell 2
39Lea Lin Teutenberg (Ger) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling TeamRow 38 - Cell 2
40Yixian Pu (Chn) China Liv Pro Cycling0:09:06
41Tanja Erath (Ger) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 40 - Cell 2
42Olga Deyko (Rus) Cogeas - Mettler Pro Cycling TeamRow 41 - Cell 2
43Mosana Debesay (Eri) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - AlurecyclingRow 42 - Cell 2
44Yasue Nakahara (Jpn) Team IlluminateRow 43 - Cell 2
45Lexie Millard (USA) Team IlluminateRow 44 - Cell 2
46Kulacha Chairin (Tha) Team IlluminateRow 45 - Cell 2
47Christa Riffel (Ger) Canyon-SRAM RacingRow 46 - Cell 2
48Yue Bai (Chn) China Liv Pro CyclingRow 47 - Cell 2
49Tereza Medvedova (Svk) BePinkRow 48 - Cell 2
50Katia Ragusa (Ita) BePinkRow 49 - Cell 2
51Anna Badegruber (Aut) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling TeamRow 50 - Cell 2
52Lucy Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5Row 51 - Cell 2
53Silvia Pollicini (Ita) Valcar PbmRow 52 - Cell 2
54Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar PbmRow 53 - Cell 2
55Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton Scott0:09:10
56Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle High5Row 55 - Cell 2
57Jeydy Pradera Bernal (Cub) Astana Women's Team0:13:03
58Xi Sha Zhao (Chn) China Liv Pro CyclingRow 57 - Cell 2
59Jessy Druyts (Bel) Experza - FootlogixRow 58 - Cell 2
60Severine Eraud (Fra) Experza - FootlogixRow 59 - Cell 2
61Dong Yanxia (Chn) China Liv Pro Cycling0:17:26
62Olena Novikova (Ukr) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - AlurecyclingRow 61 - Cell 2
63Saartje Vandenbroucke (Bel) Doltcini - Van Eyck Sport Uci Women Cycling0:17:33
DNFSara Pillon (Ita) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - AlurecyclingRow 63 - Cell 2
DNFAurora Gaio (Ita) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - AlurecyclingRow 64 - Cell 2
DNFSofia Bertizzolo (Ita) Astana Women's TeamRow 65 - Cell 2
DNFGrace Garner (GBr) Wiggle High5Row 66 - Cell 2
DNFAmy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5Row 67 - Cell 2
DNFAafke Soet (Ned) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling TeamRow 68 - Cell 2
DNFLotte Van Hoek (Ned) Doltcini - Van Eyck Sport Uci Women CyclingRow 69 - Cell 2
DNSKseniia Dobrynina (Rus) Servetto - Stradalli Cycle - AlurecyclingRow 70 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1