Tour of California 2017

Latest News from the Race

Rally Cycling's Evan Huffman won his second stage of the Tour of California, beating home Dave Lopez (Sky) and Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) from the breakaway. George Bennett finished safely in the bunch to secure the overall win ahead of Rafa Majka and Andrew Talansky.

Huffman, riding for the Continental Rally squad, again outfoxed his breakaway companions in the Pasadena finale with the sprint teams letting the breakaway stay away. Peter Sagan won the field sprint for sixth place at 22 seconds. 

Stage 7 Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling2:37:28
2David Lopez (Spa) Team SkyRow 1 - Cell 2
3Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions CreditsRow 2 - Cell 2
4Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension DataRow 3 - Cell 2
5Rob Britton (Can) Rally CyclingRow 4 - Cell 2
6Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:22
7Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step FloorsRow 6 - Cell 2
8John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-SegafredoRow 7 - Cell 2
9Ben King (USA) Dimension DataRow 8 - Cell 2
10Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-AlpecinRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo22:54:38
2Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:35
3Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Drapac0:00:36
4Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:45
5Ian Boswell (USA) Team Sky0:01:00
6Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) UAE Team Emirates0:01:54
7Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension Data0:01:55
8Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky0:02:12
9Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb0:02:15
10Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek-Segafredo0:03:14

The 12th edition of the Amgen Tour of California will see the US race jump to the WorldTour level for the first time in 2017. The seven-day race, down from eight days in previous years, will take place May 14-20 in the Golden State.

Tour of California Race Route

Race owners AEG announced the Tour of California 2017 host cities, with Sacramento named as the site of the opening stage on May 14. Modesto will host the start of stage 2, which finishes in San Jose. Stage 3 leaves from Pismo Beach and finishes up the Pacific Coast in Morro Bay. Santa Barbara will host the start of stage 4, which finishes in Santa Clarita. Stage 5, dubbed the Queen stage, leaves from Ontario and finishes on Mt. Baldy. The race travels to Big Bear Lake for the stage 6 individual time trial, and it concludes on May 20 with a stage from Mountain High to Pasadena.

Tour of California contenders

Two-time World Champion and 2015 Tour of California winner Peter Sagan, who also holds the record for most California stage wins at 15, has confirmed he will be at the 2017 race with his new team Bora-Hansgroe. The rest of the teams and riders for the 2017 race are not yet known. 

UCI rules governing WorldTour events could prevent US Continental teams from competing, but it's not yet clear if the sport's governing body will make an exception for first-year WorldTour races like the Tour of California that would allow division III teams into the 2017 race.

Overall Map for the 2017 Tour of California

2016 Tour of California Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx - Quick-Step31:47:50
2Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team0:00:21
3Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team0:00:43
4Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:52
5Lawson Craddock (USA) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:01:22
6Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo0:01:50
8Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Team Katusha0:01:53
9Neilson Powless (USA) Axeon Hagens Berman0:01:57
10Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin0:02:13


Top News on the Race

Related Features