Omar Fraile wins Spanish men's road title

New Spanish champion Omar Fraile on the podium with Jesus Herrada and Alex Aranburu
New Spanish champion Omar Fraile on the podium with Jesus Herrada and Alex Aranburu (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

Omar Fraile (Astana-Premier Tech) is the new Spanish road champion after taking victory on the hilly 183-kilometre course on the Costa Blanca.

The 30-year-old beat Cofidis rider Jesus Herrada to the line from an elite lead group, with his teammate Alex Aranburu taking third place.

The race took in several ascents of the Alto de Turrón Duro (5km at 8 per cent), with the second time up proving decisive in the race. It was there that Fraile put in his attack from the main group, catching the remains of the break and helping to shatter the group behind.

Attacks came thick and fast inside the final 40 kilometres of the race, with small groups merging and forming at the front. 

Heading into the final 10 kilometres, just 12 men were left up front. Fraile, Herrada and Aranburu were joined by fellow Astana man Luis Leon Sanchez as well as David de la Cruz (UAE Team Emirates), Carlos Rodriguez (Ineos Grenadiers), Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious), the Movistar pair of Antonio Pedrero and several others.

The group fractured further on the final wall in La Nucia, with just a handful of riders going to the line together. In the end, Fraile proved the strongest, sprinting to victory with some ease ahead of Herrada.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Omar Fraile Matarranz (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 4:48:13
2Jesus Herrada (Spa) Cofidis
3Alex Aranburu Deba (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech
4Gonzalo Serrano Rodriguez (Spa) Movistar Team
5Roger Adria Oliveras (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:00:03
6Pello Bilbao Lopez De Armentia (Spa) Bahrain Victorious
7Ander Okamika Bengoetxea (Spa) Burgos-BH 0:00:11
8Carlos Rodriguez Cano (Spa) Ineos Grenadiers
9Julen Amezqueta Moreno (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
10Marcos García (Spa) Kinan Cycling Team
11David de la Cruz (Spa) UAE Team Emirates 0:00:24
12Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 0:00:28
13Antonio Pedrero (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:28
14Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech 0:02:09
15Jose Manuel Diaz Gallego (Spa) Delko 0:04:15
16Francisco Galvan Fernandez (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
17Jon Agirre Egaña (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:04:19
18Ruben Fernandez (Spa) Cofidis
19Urko Berrade Fernandez (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
20Benjamin Prades (Spa) 0:05:20
21Jon Irisarri Ricon (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:05:32
22Ibon Ruiz Sedano (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:06:17
23Sergio Roman Martin Galan (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:06:44
24Diego Lopez Fuentes (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:06:50
25Carlos Barbero (Spa) Team Qhubeka Assos 0:07:00
26Fernando Barceló Aragon (Spa) Cofidis
27Carlos Canal Blanco (Spa) Burgos-BH
28Luis Mas Bonet (Spa) Movistar Team
29Francisco Mancebo Perez (Spa) Matrix Powertag
30Raul Garcia Pierna (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:07:03
31Oscar Pelegri Ferrandis (Spa) Electro Hiper Europa
32Javier Chacon (Spa)
33Alberto Gallego Ruiz (Spa) Radio Popular-Boavista
34Julen Irizar Laskurain (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
35José Manuel Gutierrez (Spa) Gios
36Jon Barrenetxea Golzarri (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
37Juan Antonio Lopez-Cozar Jaimez (Spa) Burgos-BH
38Salvador Guardiola Tora (Spa) Kinan Cycling Team
39Jordi Lopez Caravaca (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
40Ivan Moreno Sanchez (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
41Eusebio Pascual (Spa) Bahrain Cycling Academy
42Ángel Coterillo (Spa)
43Alejandro Ropero Molina (Spa) Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team
44Sergio Araiz Michel (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
45Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Team Medellin
46Carlos Garcia Pierna (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
47Jose Felix Parra Cuerda (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
48Oscar Cabedo Carda (Spa) Burgos-BH
49Sergio Garcia (Spa) Eolo-Kometa 0:07:09
50Garikoitz Bravo Oiarbide (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
51Miguel Angel Ballesteros (Spa)
52Nacho Ara (Spa) 0:07:19
53Diego Pablo Sevilla Lopez (Spa) Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team 0:07:21
54Pelayo Sanchez Mayo (Spa) Burgos-BH
55Jesus Del Pino Corrochano (Spa) Louletano-Loulé Concelho
56Ander Del Castaño (Spa) 0:07:28
57Aritz Bagües Kalparsoro (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:07:34
58Alvaro Cuadros Morata (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
59Antonio Angulo Sampedro (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
60Marti Marquez Roman (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma 0:07:39
61Héctor Carretero (Spa) Movistar Team 0:07:42
62Joan Bou Company (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:08:03
63Txomin Juaristi Arrieta (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
64Jonathan Lastra Martinez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
65Eduardo Perez-landaluce (Spa) 0:08:49
66Edgar Esteban (Spa) 0:08:51
67David Gomez (Spa) 0:09:31
68Eduardo Armengol (Spa)
69Llibert Sendros (Spa)
70Victor Martinez (Spa) Electro Hiper Europa
71ISaac Canton Serrano (Spa) Burgos-BH
72Unai Cuadrado Ruiz De Gauna (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:09:34
73Eduard Prades Reverter (Spa) Delko
74Ibai Azurmendi Sagastibeltza (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
75Jaime Castrillo Zapater (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
76Alex Jaime Fernandez (Spa) Equipo Kern Pharma
77Miguel Juan (Spa) 0:09:41
78Francisco Rus (Spa) 0:14:16
79Tomas Miralles (Spa)
80Javier Hernández (Spa)
81Ferran Robert (Spa)
82Miguel Ángel Silva (Spa)
83Mikel Mujika (Spa) 0:14:26
84Roberto Mediero 0:14:28
85Arturo Gravalos Lopez (Spa) Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team 0:14:32
86Diego Rubio Hernandez (Spa) Burgos-BH
87Pablo Rodriguez (Spa) 0:14:34
88Pablo Alonso (Spa) 0:14:38
89Jorge Bueno (Spa) Gios
90Javier Hernández (Spa)
91Jose Maria Garcia (Spa) 0:14:44
92Carlos Gutiérrez (Spa)
93Antonio Canovas (Spa) 0:14:47
94José David Martínez (Spa)
95Felipe Orts Lloret (Spa) Burgos-BH
96Mario Aparicio Muñoz (Spa) Burgos-BH
97Marcos Jurado Rodriguez (Spa) Electro Hiper Europa
98Iker Ballarin Manso (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
99Angel Fuentes Paniego (Spa) Burgos-BH
100Antonio Jesús Soto (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
101Xabier Mikel Azparren Irurzun (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
102Oscar Rodriguez Garaicoechea (Spa) Astana-Premier Tech
103Jokin Murguialday (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
104Francisco Daniel Mulero (Spa) 0:14:53

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews