Van der Poel solos for 44km to win Dutch road title

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) utterly dominated the Dutch national championships in Drenthe, attacking a select group with 44km remaining and soloing to victory over Sunweb's Nils Eekhoff.

Eekhoff put in the first major attack on the 15th of 25 laps of the 7.3km circuit that included the short, steep VAM-berg climb, but Van der Poel had designs on the tricolor jersey. He splintered the field behind and pulled a small group up to Eekhoff containing Pascal Eenkhoorn and Jos van Emden (Jumbo-Visma), Koen de Kort and Pieter Weening (Trek-Segafredo), Ramon Sinkeldam (Groupama-FDJ) and Corne van Kessel (Circus-Wanty Gobert).

Van der Poel put in a probing attack and shuffled the deck of the lead group, with De Kort and Weening dropped and Jumbo-Visma gaining Timo Roosen and Bert-Jan Lindeman in the group on the next lap.

The Jumbo-Visma riders nullified Van der Poel once with 50km to go but after another lap and another trip up the VAM-berg, the Alpecin-Fenix rider put the hammer down and dropped everyone.

Van der Poel made easy work of the remaining laps, carving out more and more time before raising his arms in victory atop the 'Col du VAM'. Eekhoff held on for silver at 1:31 with Roosen attacking his teammates to take third, a distant 3:08 behind the winner.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix 4:25:23
2Nils Eekhoff (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:31
3Timo Roosen (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:03:08
4Pascal Eenkhoorn (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:03:17
5Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:03:19
6Arvid De Kleijn (Ned) Riwal Readynez 0:04:08
7Corné van Kessel (Ned) Circus-Wanty Gobert 0:04:15
8Koen Bouwman (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:04:21
9Taco Van der Hoorn (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:04:23
10Peter Schulting (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx 0:04:25
11Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Groupama-FDJ 0:04:32
12Jan-Willem van Schip (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club 0:04:42
13Pim Ligthart (Ned) Total Direct Energie 0:05:10
14Nick Van der Lijke (Ned) Riwal Readynez 0:05:11
15Rick Ottema (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel 0:05:14
16Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:05:16
17Lennard Hofstede (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma 0:05:23
DNFTom-Jelte Slagter (Ned) B&B Hotels-Vital Concept
DNFWim Stroetinga (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFNils Wolfenbuttel (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFJelle Wolsink (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFAndré Luijk (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFIvar Slik (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFGert-Jan Bosman (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFThijs De Lange (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
DNFJulius Van den Berg (Ned) EF Pro Cycling
DNFJeen de Jong (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFWesley Kreder (Ned) Circus-Wanty Gobert
DNFEtienne Van Empel (Ned) Vini Zabu' KTM
DNFRemco Schouten (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFLuuc Bugter (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club
DNFDylan Bouwmans (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
DNFMartijn Budding (Ned) Riwal Readynez
DNFAbe Celi (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFSven Burger (Ned) SEG Racing Academy
DNFGerben Mos (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFArne Peters (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFJeroen Meijers (Ned) SSOIS Miogee Cycling Team
DNFMarco Doets (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFElmar Reinders (Ned) Riwal Readynez
DNFBoy Van Poppel (Ned) Circus-Wanty Gobert
DNFJesper Asselman (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
DNFOscar Riesebeek (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
DNFNiki Terpstra (Ned) Total Direct Energie
DNFDanny Van Poppel (Ned) Circus-Wanty Gobert
DNFDaniel Abraham (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club
DNFDavid Van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
DNFBjörn Bakker (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFAlex Mengoulas (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club
DNFRoy Eefting (Ned) Team Sapura Cycling
DNFAdriaan Janssen (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFStef Krul (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
DNFMaarten de Jonge (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFPiotr Havik (Ned) Riwal Readynez
DNFWiebe Scholten (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFCoen Vermeltfoort (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFKoen De Kort (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
DNFNahom Desale (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club
DNFJason Van Dalen (Ned) Metec - TKH Continental Cyclingteam p/b Mantel
DNFTom Leezer (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma
DNFAlex Molenaar (Ned) Burgos-BH
DNFJustin Timmermans (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFLars van der Haar (Ned) Telenet-Baloise Lions
DNFJetse Bol (Ned) Burgos-BH
DNFTijmen Eising (Ned) VolkerWessels-Merckx
DNFHartthijs De Vries (Ned) Vlasman CT
DNFStijn Appel (Ned) À BLOC CT
DNFJan Maas (Ned) Leopard Pro Cycling
DNFPieter Weening (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
DNFBas van der Kooij (Ned) BEAT Cycling Club
DNFSebastian Langeveld (Ned) EF Pro Cycling
DNFAntwan Tolhoek (Ned) Team Jumbo-Visma
DNSJasper Bovenhuis (Ned) Vlasman CT

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1