Kerschbaumer tops Gehbauer in U23 cross country

The Under 23 men rode in their own separate race, with Gerhard Kerschbaumer (TX Active Bianchi), Alexander Gehbauer (Austria) and Marek Konwa (Milka Trek) riding away from the rest of the field.

Kerschbaumer and Gehbauer dropped Konwa at the halfway mark. Then Kerschbaumer attacked at the start of the final lap to take the victory.

"I knew I had a chance today," said Kerschbaumer after the finish, "but I really think I performed one of my best races ever. Being in the lead from the beginning, I had time to test my opponents and figure out where I could make a difference."

"In the final lap, Gehbauer misled a bend, and I had the chance to drop him on the very technical descent. The Austrian actually surprised me, as he did not look so strong in Nalles: it was not easy today, this is why I am so glad with this victory."

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi1:22:48
2Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)0:00:18
3Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team0:01:10
4Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:01:48
5Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team0:02:08
6Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Scott Les Saisies0:02:33
7Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG-2 Professional MTB Team0:02:39
8David Fletcher (GBr)0:02:47
9Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team0:02:58
10Olof Jonsson (Swe) Rocky Roads-Orbea0:03:11
11Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team0:03:17
12Marcel Fleschhut (Ger)0:03:28
13Rourke Croeser (RSA) Orange Monkey / Cannondale0:03:37
14Kornel Osicki (Pol) JGB-2 Professional MTB TeamRow 13 - Cell 2
15Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys-Evenza Team0:04:03
16Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team0:04:11
17Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One-Cube MTB Team0:04:32
18Jeff Luyten (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team0:04:42
19Henrique Avancini (Bra) ISD Cycling Team0:04:44
20Jérémy Huguenin (Swi) Giant Swiss SR-Suntour0:04:50
21Gilles Sarrazin (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre0:04:59
22Simon Stiebjahn (Ger)0:05:23
23Andy Eyring (Ger)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Thibaut Bellanger (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre0:05:48
25Matthias Rupp (Swi) Team Firebike-Droessiger0:06:03
26Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X-Bionic Team0:06:05
27Tim Lemmers (Ned)0:06:24
28Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:06:28
29Daniel Eymann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team0:06:33
30James Reid (RSA)0:06:59
31Dominic Calitz (RSA) Team Protek0:07:01
32Ruan Du Toit (RSA)0:07:24
33Julien Trarieux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:07:57
34Thomas Lapeyrie (Fra) Lapierre InternationalRow 33 - Cell 2
35Fabian Strecker (Ger)0:07:59
36Mattias Nilsson (Swe)0:09:08
37Ricardo Paulo Reis Marinheiro (Por) TX Active Bianchi0:09:19
38Dmytro Titarenko (Ukr) ISD Cycling Team0:09:34
39Louis-Bresler Knipe (RSA)0:09:43
40Kenta Gallagher (GBr)0:10:25
41Adriaan Louw (RSA)0:11:15
42Francis Morin (Can) BH-Suntour-Peisey Vallandry0:12:00
43Benjamin Buchi (Swi)0:15:10
44Lourens Luus (RSA)0:15:20
45 (-1 lap)Ryan Ellis (RSA)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Shaun Craig Silver (RSA)Row 45 - Cell 2
47 (-3 laps)Ruben Scheire (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB TeamRow 46 - Cell 2
DNFLuca Braidot (Ita)Row 47 - Cell 2
DNFDiego Rosa (Ita) Giant Italia TeamRow 48 - Cell 2
DNFNicolas Jeantet (Ita) ISD Cycling TeamRow 49 - Cell 2
DNFMarc Metzler (Swi)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNFJonas De Backer (Bel) Rocky Roads-OrbeaRow 51 - Cell 2
DNFHeiko Redecker (Nam)Row 52 - Cell 2
DNFStephen Ettinger (USA)Row 53 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Under 23 men cross country World Cup standings after one round
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) TX Active Bianchi90pts
2Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)70Row 1 - Cell 3
3Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka Trek MTB Racing Team60Row 2 - Cell 3
4Fabien Canal (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix50Row 3 - Cell 3
5Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team40Row 4 - Cell 3
6Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Scott Les Saisies35Row 5 - Cell 3
7Piotr Brzozka (Pol) JBG-2 Professional MTB Team30Row 6 - Cell 3
8David Fletcher (GBr)27Row 7 - Cell 3
9Marco Minnaard (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Offroad Team24Row 8 - Cell 3
10Olof Jonsson (Swe) Rocky Roads-Orbea22Row 9 - Cell 3
11Erik Groen (Ned) Feenstra Stevens Bike Team20Row 10 - Cell 3
12Marcel Fleschhut (Ger)18Row 11 - Cell 3
13Rourke Croeser (RSA) Orange Monkey / Cannondale16Row 12 - Cell 3
14Kornel Osicki (Pol) JBG-2 Professional MTB Team14Row 13 - Cell 3
15Sebastien Carabin (Bel) Versluys-Evenza Team12Row 14 - Cell 3
16Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team10Row 15 - Cell 3
17Zsolt Juhasz (Hun) Euro One-Cube MTB Team9Row 16 - Cell 3
18Jeff Luyten (Bel) MPL Specialized MTB Team8Row 17 - Cell 3
19Henrique Avancini (Bra) ISD Cycling Team7Row 18 - Cell 3
20Jérémy Huguenin (Swi) Giant Swiss SR-Suntour6Row 19 - Cell 3
21Gilles Sarrazin (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre5Row 20 - Cell 3
22Simon Stiebjahn (Ger)4Row 21 - Cell 3
23Andy Eyring (Ger)3Row 22 - Cell 3
24Thibaut Bellanger (Fra) Team Veloroc Lapierre2Row 23 - Cell 3
25Matthias Rupp (Swi) Team Firebike-Droessiger1Row 24 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1