Skip to main content

Fontana wins Italian cross country championship

Image 1 of 2

Johnny Cattaneo rides to second.

Johnny Cattaneo rides to second. (Image credit: Full Dynamix MTB Team)
Image 2 of 2

Marco Aurelio Fontana wins the Italian championship.

Marco Aurelio Fontana wins the Italian championship. (Image credit: Cannondale)

Cannondale Factory Racing's Marco Aurelio Fontana took home the national cross country championship title in Italy this weekend.

On the fast and challenging course inside the town of Brescia, nobody could follow Fontana on his brand new Cannondale Flash bicycle. Not even a flat tire could stop him from taking his first title in three years.

"I felt really good today," said Fontana. "After I flated on some stairs, I caught up quickly and pushed hard until the finish line."

Johnny Cattaneo (Full Dynamix) came in second after 39 seconds. Alessandro Gambino (KTM - Dayco ASD) was third.

Eva Lechner (Colnago Arreghini Esereito) won the women's race with a 1:27 advantage over Roberta Gaparini (KTM-Dayco AST) and with a 3:13 margin over third placed Elena Gaddoni (Promo Bike).

Racing in his native city, Cristian Cominelli (TX Active-Bianchi) won the under 23 men's race over Roberto Crisi and Elia Silvestri. Cominelli is already the Italian cyclo-cross under 23 champion, and this win marks his tenth title overall and fifth in the cross country. He's got four total titles in cyclo-cross and one in the marathon.

"Becoming Italian champion is always a great emotion," said Cominelli, "even more when it happens in my city and in front of crowds."


Elite men
1Marco Aurelio Fontana (Cannondale Factory Racing)1:49:19
2Johnny Cattaneo (Full Dynamix)0:00:39
3Alessandro Gambino (KTM - Dayco ASD)0:01:19
4Mirko Celestino (Axevo-Alba Orobia)0:01:51
5Pierluigi Bettelli (Scott RTASD)0:02:36
6Dario David Cioni (ISD)0:03:26
7Yader Zoli (Torpado - 4US)0:03:41
8Mirko Pirazzoli (ISD)0:05:01
9Marzio Deho (GS Cicli Olympia)0:05:27
10Ramon Bianchi (Scott RTASD)0:05:54

Elite women
1Eva Lechner (Colnago Arreghini Esereito)1:28:51
2Roberta Gaparini (KTM-Dayco AST)0:01:27
3Elena Gaddoni (Promo Bike)0:03:13
4Michela Benzoni (Lissone MTB ASD)0:05:13
5Elena Giacomuzzi (Caprivesi)0:06:23
6Sibylle Werth (L'Arcobaleno Carraro)0:11:33
7Barbara Oberdorfer (L'Arcobaleno Carraro)0:11:48
8Claudia Andolina (Team Hiker)0:12:19
9Alessia Ghezzo (Torpado - 4US)0:13:31
10Karin Tosato (Torpado - 4US)0:14:46


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews