Rabottini wins Under 23 road race

Matthew Rabottini (VC Aran - Cogem - BLS) won the Under 23 men's Italian road championship in Imola on Saturday. Alfredo Balloni (AGI Neri Nuova Comauto), who was the fastest of a small chase group, finished in second place Gianluca Brambilla (Zalf Desirre Fior) was third.

With one kilometer to go on the final climb, Rabottini put himself into a solo break. About 30 seconds behind him, four riders chased for the remaining podium positions. Alfredo Balloni (A.G.I. Neri Nuova Comauto) beat Gianluca Brambilla (G.S. Zalf Desiree Fior) in a sprint for second and third. Moreno Moser (Lucchini Arvedi Unidelta A.S.D.) and Diego Zanco (U.C. Trevigiani) soon followed in fourth and fifth.

"I went on the offensive in the decisive parts of the race," said Rabottini. "I won here a month ago, and I remember well the characteristics of the area and the roads."

"I tried to follow him," said Brambilla of the winner Rabottini. "But there was nothing to be done, even with Balloni helping to chase. "

Trained as a master mechanic, Rabottini had started college, but withdrew to race his bike. "If you want to do this job, you need to make a choice. My dad always told me that if you want to get to the top, you have to make sacrifices. I've been training with Danilo Di Luca and Ruggero Marzoli."

Swipe to scroll horizontally
1Matteo Rabottini (V.C. Aran - Cogem - BLS)4:01:00
2Alfredo Balloni (A.G.I. Neri Nuova Comauto)0:00:32
3Gianluca Brambilla (G.S. Zalf Desiree Fior)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Moreno Moser (Lucchini Arvedi Unidelta A.S.D.)0:00:34
5Diego Zanco (U.C. Trevigiani)0:00:35
6Paolo Locatelli (Bergamasca Colpack Denardi)0:00:44
7Sacha Modolo (G.S. Zalf Desiree Fior)0:00:49
8Federico Masiero (Marchiol Site Liquigas)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Cesare Benedetti (De Nardi - Daigo-Bergamasca)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Fabio Felline (De Nardi - Daigo-Bergamasca)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Tomas Alberio (Bottoli Ramonda Nordelettrica)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Davide Cimolai (Marchiol Site Liquigas)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Andrea Piechele (U.C. Trevigiani)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Davide Appollonio (Team Hoppla' Seano Bellissima)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Gabriele Tassinari (G.S. Zalf Desiree Fior)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Enrico Battaglin (G.S. Zalf Desiree Fior)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Mirko Tedeschi (G.C.Feralpi A.S.D.)Row 16 - Cell 2
18Mirko Battaglini (A.G.I. Neri Nuova Comauto)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Antonio Doneddu (Palazzago Elledent Rad)0:00:50
20Mauro Vicini (Aurora Named - M.I. Impianti)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Marco Di Leo (Aurora Named - M.I. Impianti)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Giacomo Calzoni (Us Boltiere Fiorenzo Magni)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Matteo Gozzi (S.C. Virtus Villa Ass. Sport. Dil.)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Vincenzo Puca (V.C. Aran - Cogem - Bls)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Stefano Borchi (Mastromarco Chianti Sensi Mapoo)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Mario Giannetti (Futura Team - Matricardi)0:00:51
27Luigi Miletta (Petroli Firenze - Gragnano Sc)0:00:52
28Patrick Facchini (Lucchini Arvedi Unidelta A.S.D.)0:00:56
29Matteo Mammini (Team Hoppla' Seano Bellissima)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Efrem Salvi (Bergamasca Colpack Denardi)0:00:58
31Stefano Locatelli (Bergamasca Colpack Denardi)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Angelo Pagani (Bottoli Ramonda Nordelettrica)0:01:02
33Mattia Barabesi (Team Hoppla' Seano Bellissima)0:02:18
34Pietro Tedesco (S.C. F.W.R. Bata (A.S.D.))0:04:03
35Mario Sgrinzato (Team Molino Di Ferro - Giorgione)0:05:00
36Tommaso Salvetti (Brunero-Camel-Pedalando In Lang)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Nicolo' Martinello (U.S. F. Coppi Gazzera Videa)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Roberto De Patre (V.C. Aran - Cogem - Bls)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Thomas Tiozzo (S.C. F.W.R. Bata (A.S.D.))Row 38 - Cell 2
40Edoardo Zardini (Mantovani Puros - Fapu)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews