Anna Kay wins muddy GP Leuven

Anna Kay of Team Starcasino Cx was eighth at Superprestige Jaarmarktcross
Anna Kay of Team Starcasino Cx was eighth at Superprestige Jaarmarktcross (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Briton’s Anna Kay (Starcasino CX Team) won the second round Ethias Cross at GP Leuven on Saturday. She took her first victory of the cyclo-cross season with a solid showing in the mud over Dutch pair of Ellen van Loy, who was 47 seconds back in second, and Laura Verdonschot, 1:13 back.

It was Kay’s second race back to action after she was hit by a driver on a training ride in mid September, requiring surgery to repair a broken collarbone and torn ligaments. She finished eighth at Superprestige Jaarmarktcross on Thursday.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX Team 0:49:58
2Ellen van Loy (Bel) 0:00:47
3Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Bingoal 0:01:13
4Amira Mellor (GBr) Team Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus 0:01:29
5Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko - Crelan 0:02:17
6Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) CX Team Deschacht-Group Hens-Containers Maes 0:03:08
7Josie Nelson (GBr) 0:03:09
8Xan Crees (GBr) Team Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus 0:04:19
9Susanne Meistrok (Ned) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:04:51
10Sterre Vervloet (Bel) 0:04:58
11Julie Brouwers (Bel) 0:05:02
12Lara Defour (Bel) 0:05:33
13Barbara Borowiecka (Pol) 0:05:44
14Loes Sels (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT 0:06:06
15Bibi Verzijl (Ned) 0:06:46
16Femke Gort (Ned) BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M 0:06:49
17Lotte Baele (Bel) 0:07:18
18Lies´L Schevenels (Bel) 0:07:22
19Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) Proximus - Alphamotorhomes - Doltcini CT
20Allison Arensman (USA) Velorevolution Wpcycles
21Maïté Barthels (Lux)
22Corey Coogan Cisek (USA) Velorevolution Wpcycles
23Xenna de Bruyckere (Bel)
24Pem Hoefmans (Ned)
25Audrey de Keersmaeker (Bel) Starcasino CX Team
26Caren Commissaris (Bel)
27Rosanne Breugelmans (Bel) BNS Technics - Groep T.O.M
28Mara Schwager (Ger)
29Sara Michielsens (Bel)
30Layla Barthels (Lux)
DNFMarie van de Kerkhof (Bel)
DNFMirthe van den Brande (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1