Nys unstoppable in Niel

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) won the Jaarmarktcross in Niel, Belgium on a a soaked, muddy course that suited him to perfection. Despite a pit incident, the Belgian 'cross champion finished solo 26 seconds ahead of Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus). Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) finished in third place, 1:33 down on Nys, for his first podium appearance of the season.

"This is a classic and even though it's not part of a classification there's no way you don't want to win here," Nys said. "I'm in a time of the season in which everything seems to work out well and it's a good moment in the season to be good."

Due to the incident in the pits - Nys's mechanics were not present to give him a clean bike, forcing Nys to wait - the Belgian champion lost 15 seconds to his nearest chaser, Niels Albert, but that didn't change the outcome of the race. "I had about 20 seconds time to recover while Niels was working hard. I told myself 'you were the best, just continue being the best'."

Strong winds and heavy rain showers turned the course in Niel into a soaked mudfest. With world champion Zdenek Stybar (Telenet-Fidea) absent, Sven Nys was the top favorite in Niel after his victory on the Koppenberg and his win in epic conditions in Ronse.

During the first lap Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) led the field along the Rupel river but when Nys accelerated at the end of the opening lap Wellens wasn't able to keep up. "My legs were feeling too good," Wellens said. "It's been a long time since I led a race and I was a bit too enthusiastic. When Nys accelerated I realized I had overdone it and I actually needed two laps to recover from that." Nys was the solo leader during the second lap, then was joined first by Niels Albert and one lap later Kevin Pauwels (Telenet-Fidea) to form a leading trio.

Halfway through the race Nys accelerated again and this time the gaps behind him were massive. Albert trailed Nys by almost twenty seconds, Pauwels was at half a minute and Wellens fell to nearly a minute behind the leader.

With two laps to go, however, when Nys seemed comfortably on his way towards his fifth victory of the season, an unusual spectacle happened for the Belgian champion in the pits. Nys entered the first pit and found that none of his mechanics were there. By the time a mechanic appeared with a clean bike Albert was back on Nys's wheel. The pit incident ultimately didn't alter the outcome of the race as Nys quickly left Albert behind again and crossed the finish line almost half a minute ahead of his young compatriot.

Wellens turned around affairs during the closing laps and overtook his teammate Pauwels for third place, at a respectable 1:33 behind Nys. Notable performances in Niel also came from Thijs Van Amerongen (AA Drink Cycling Team) and Kenneth Van Compernolle (Sunweb-Revor), who captured surprising top 10 results.

American rider and Cyclingnews blogger Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) was battling in eleventh position until the wind got the better of some course tape which ended up in his derailleur. The incident happened near a pit and Page eventually finished 14th in Niel. "It's all right. My back pain is behind me and I was in the mix for a decent result. I'm satisfied and looking forward to the upcoming races," Page told Cyclingnews.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet1:02:15
2Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:26
3Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:33
4Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:13
5Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:40
6Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:46
7Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:03:06
8Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team0:03:19
9Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:03:37
10Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:03:48
11Radomir Simunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus0:04:14
12Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus0:04:22
13Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team0:04:32
14Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike0:04:44
15Tom van den Bosch (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team0:05:07
16Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:05:25
17Jan Verstraeten (Bel) KDL-Trans0:05:38
18Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:05:48
19Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road TeamRow 18 - Cell 2
20Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-PowerplusRow 19 - Cell 2
21Twan van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl-DestilRow 20 - Cell 2
22Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-PowerplusRow 21 - Cell 2
23Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille MetropoleRow 22 - Cell 2
24Dave De Cleyn (Bel) AVB Cycling Team-1lap
25Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling TeamRow 24 - Cell 2
26Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team-2laps
27Geert Wellens (Bel) Champion System LBS TeamRow 26 - Cell 2
28Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Van Goethem - ProraceRow 27 - Cell 2
29Roy Van Heeswijk (Ned) ZZPR.nl-DestilRow 28 - Cell 2
30Stijn Mortelmans (Bel) Palmans-CrasRow 29 - Cell 2
31Rudy Kowalski (Fra)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Carlos Hernandez Garcia (Spa)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Flavien Dassonville (Fra) Nogent Sur OiseRow 32 - Cell 2
34Alexis Caresmel (Bel)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Jorge Rodriguez Garcia (Fra)-4laps
36Diego Martínez (Spa)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Daan Bongers (Ned)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Jorge Cantalicio (Spa)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Javier Hernández (Spa)-5laps
40Manuel Martín (Spa)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1