Van Anrooij wins Cyclocross Gullegem

RUCPHEN NETHERLANDS DECEMBER 18 Shirin Van Anrooij of The Netherlands and Team Baloise Trek Lions competes during the 9th Rucphen UCI CycloCross Worldcup 2021 Womens Elite CXWorldCup UCIcyclocrossWC on December 18 2021 in Rucphen Netherlands Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
Van Anrooij is fast rising through the ranks (Image credit: Getty Images)

Shirin van Anrooij (Baloise Trek Lions) claimed victory at the 2022 Cyclocross Gullegem with a dominant ride in the Belgian rain and mud. 

The 19-year-old, who became the U23 women's European champion in November, rode clear on the first of five laps and extended her advantage all the way to the finish. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shirin van Anrooij (Ned) Baloise Trek LionsRow 0 - Cell 2
2Maghalie Rochette (Can) Row 1 - Cell 2
3Zoe Backstedt (GBr) TormansRow 2 - Cell 2
4Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Liv RacingRow 3 - Cell 2
5Inge van der Heijden (Ned) 777Row 4 - Cell 2
6Marion Norbert Riberolle (Bel) Starcasino CX TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko-CrelanRow 6 - Cell 2
8Jana Dobbelaere (Bel) Starcasino CX TeamRow 7 - Cell 2
9Anna Kay (GBr) Starcasino CX TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Erica Zaveta (USA) Row 9 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews