Peter Stetina wins men's Belgian Waffle Ride California

Peter Stetina
Peter Stetina (Image credit: Oregon Trail Gravel Grinder)

Peter Stetina (Let’s Privateer) defended his 2019 title at the Belgian Waffle Ride California on Sunday, pushing past a lead duo of Sandy Floren (Dirt Camp Devo) and Russell Finsterwald (CLIF Pro Team) over the final large climbs on the 212-kilometre course. 

“Coming back, winning it was, honestly, mostly relief. Coming in as defending champion there’s a lot of pressure, there’s a lot of expectations, there’s a lot of media obligations. Canyon, my bike sponsor, is the title sponsor of the event. I put a lot of pressure on myself. To deliver, it makes it that much sweeter,” said Stetina, woh finished three minutes, 13 seconds ahead of Floren and 3:35 ahead of Finsterwald. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Peter Stetina (Let's Privateer) 6:12:15
2Sandy Floren (Dirt Camp Devo) 0:03:13
3Russell Finsterwald (CLIF Pro Team) 0:03:35
4John Borstelmann (Panaracer/Factor p/b Bicycle X-Change) 0:04:27
5Stephen Vogel (Project Echelon) 0:09:17
6Payson Mcelveen (Orange Seal Off-road Team) 0:09:57
7Satoru Rokuta (Big Orange) 0:10:51
8Bryan Lewis (Cutaway USA)
9Nicholas Vilter (Team Viltronix) 0:15:24
10Tristan Uhl (Giant Factory Off Road Team) 0:20:02
11Ian Boswell (WAHOO) 0:21:32
12Logan Kasper (Flow formulas the black bibs) 0:30:38
13Brian Scarbrough (Competitive metals) 0:30:54
14Edward Anderson (Alpecin-Fenix) 0:31:56
15Colin Strickland (MeteorX Allied) 0:32:37
16Alexey Vermeulen (Q+M, North Peak Brewing, Commercial Capital Mortgage) 0:35:13
17Ethan Overson (CINCH ELITE) 0:36:26
18Eric Fischer (Specialized) 0:38:09
19Carl Decker (Giant Factory Racing) 0:38:13
20Tanner Ward (First Internet Bank) 0:40:01
21Tanner Smith (Hyland's) 0:40:46
22Ivan Gallego (Cyclocrossworld p/b Cannondale) 0:40:59
23Rudy Napolitano (Bahati Foundation RAAM Team) 0:43:59
24Mat Stephens (Lauf/Voler) 0:45:09
25Sean Kickbush (3T / Q+M) 0:46:55
26Jonathan Baker (Sonic Boom Pro Gravel) 0:48:44
27Miles Hubbard (Mike's Bikes) 0:50:32
28Cory Greenberg (Dauner Akkon Pro Cycling Team) 0:52:00
29Matt Mcloone (Total Civil Construction p/b Battley Harley-Davidson) 0:56:23
30Roman Kilun (Mike's Bikes) 0:58:05
31Matt Jablonski (Total Civil Construction p/b Battley H-D) 1:08:55
32Connor Ryan (Total Civil Construction p/b Battley Harley-Davidson) 1:09:44
33Ryan Standish (Orange Seal/Kenda/Ventum) 1:11:45
34Jerry Dufour (Dirt Camp Devo)
35Eric Bryan (Landback) 1:13:18
36David Michael Sweet (Eliel factory Team) 1:13:37
37Jeff Winkler (Winkler Cycling) 1:14:13
38Frederick Junge (FJCX) 1:16:14
39Brian Mcculloch (Big Wheel Coaching) 1:16:19
40James Walsh (Wattie Ink G.C.P) 1:17:44
41Travis Longfellow (Ride Bikes Bro) 1:19:59
42Colin Patterson (Voler Factory Racing p/b OVCB) 1:21:15
43Colby Greiner (Greiner) 1:24:07
44John Killeen 1:24:47
45Jonathan Cavner (Rodeo Pro Gravel) 1:32:41
46Jack Eisele (Boston University Cycling) 1:35:49
47Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins / Specialized) 1:36:43
48Jeff Wolfe (Cast a shadow) 3:07:24
49Ryan Mcclean (McDirty Racing) 3:19:46
50Brently Rousset 3:25:28

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews