Skip to main content

Van der Haar prevails in Gieten

Lars van der Haar (Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team) won the fifth round of the Superprestige Series in Gieten, The Netherlands. The European U23 'cross champion outsprinted a large front group which stayed together throughout the event. Belgium's Vincent Baestaens (Telenet-Fidea) finished second while Tijmen Eising (Sunweb-Revor) rounded out the top three in third.

Eising and Mike Teunissen (Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team) were the most aggressive during the race, but neither was able to force a selection heading into the finale.

"When it comes to sprints, I do stand my ground," said Van der Haar. "I ended up in second position on the road and then I knew it was as good as won. It was a nice end to a nervous match in which too many riders were in the leading group."

The victory was doubly good for Van der Haar as the Dutchman moved into the Superprestige Series lead by one point over previous leader Jim Aernouts (BKCP-Powerplus). Aernouts, the Belgian U23 'cross champion, could only manage a ninth place finish in Gieten and surrendered the lead by the slimmest of margins.

Full Results
1Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:47:50
2Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team
3Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor
4Micki van Empel (Ned)
5Marcel Meisen (Ger)
6Mike Teunissen (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
7Corné van Kessel (Ned)
8Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team
9Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
10Tim Merlier (Bel)
11Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
12Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor
13Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team
14Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
15Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
16Twan van den Brand (Ned)
17Kobus Hereijgers (Ned)
18Kenneth Hansen (Den)
19Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)
20Jens Adams (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
21Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)
22Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor
23Max Walsleben (Ger)
24David van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus
25Tomáš Paprstka (Cze) Scott Cycling Team Kolín
26Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB dreamteam0:00:35
27Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:45
28Karel Hník (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:50
29Angelo De Clercq (Bel)0:00:55
30Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:01:05
31Maurits Lammertink (Ned)0:01:10
32Radek Polnicky (Cze)0:01:20
33Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb - Revor0:01:30
34Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:35
35Jan Nesvadba (Cze) KC Kooperativa Sg Jablonec N.N0:01:40
36Jonas Guddal (Den)0:02:35
37Geert van deer Horst (Ned)0:03:10
38Bart Barkhuis (Ned) WV Meteoor Assen-Roden0:03:50
39Allan Veenstra (Ned)0:04:00
40Peio Goikoetxea (Spa)-2laps
41Lars Maris (Ned)-3laps
42Erwin Ketellapper (Ned)-5laps

Superprestige Series standings after 5 rounds
1Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team65pts
2Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus64
3Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team50
4Joeri Adams (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team45
5Marcel Meisen (Ger)42
6Tijmen Eising (Ned) Sunweb-Revor37
7Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus30
8Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb-Revor26
9Stef Boden (Bel) Sunweb-Revor25
10Sven Beelen (Bel) Sunweb-Revor23
11Kevin Eeckhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor21
12Micki van Empel (Ned) ZZPR.nl18
13Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) BKCP-Powerplus13
14Sean De Bie (Bel)13
15Mike Teunisse (Ned)13
16Matthieu Boulo (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole12
17Corné van Kessel (Ned)12
18Michiel van der Heijden (Ned)11
19Arnaud Grand (Swi) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team10
20Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus10
21Karel Hník (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team9
22Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned)9
23Emiel Dolfsma (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team8
24Matthias Bossuyt (Bel)7
25Tim Merlier (Bel)6
26Jirí Polnický (Cze) Sunweb - Revor5
27Twan van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl5
28Michael Boroš (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor4
29Ole Quast (Ger) Stevens Racing Team3
30Kobus Hereijgers (Ned) ZZPR.nl2
31Ritchie Denolf (Bel)1
32Jelle Brackman (Bel) MTB dreamteam1

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews