Wiebes, D'hoore, Wild set to clash at Classic Brugge-De Panne

DE PANNE BELGIUM OCTOBER 20 Sprint Arrival Jolien Dhoore of Belgium and Boels Dolmans Cycling Team Disqualified Lorena Wiebes of The Netherlands and Team Sunweb Lisa Brennauer of Germany and Ceratizit Wnt Pro Cycling Team Lotte Kopecky of Belgium and Team Lotto Soudal Ladies Sarah Roy of Australia and Team Mitchelton Scott during the 3rd Driedaagse Brugge De Panne 2020 Women Classic a 1563km race from Brugge to De Panne AG3daagse on October 20 2020 in De Panne Belgium Photo by Luc ClaessenGetty Images
Jolien D'hoore and Lorena Wiebes at 2020 Brugge-De Panne (Image credit: Getty Images)

The top sprinters in the world are set to clash at the Women’s WorldTour Oxyclean Classic Brugge-De Panne on Thursday in Belgium. Among those sprinters are all three previous winners - defending champion Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM), Kirsten Wild (Ceratizit-WNT) and Jolien D’hoore (SD Worx).

Last year’s edition of Brugge-De Panne ended with a controversial sprint that saw D’hoore cross the line first but was swiftly relegated for deviating from her line and officials awarded the win to Wiebes. The pair are expected to once again go head-to-head in De Panne.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.