Which edition of Paris-Roubaix was the best? You decide in round 2

Tom Boonen raises four fingers in the arm as he wins the 2012 edition
(Image credit: Tim de Waele/TDWSport.com)

The first round of voting in Cyclingnews' poll to find the best edition of Paris-Roubaix over the past 30 years has been completed, and the readers have spoken: all eight winners have come from the past 15 years.

Two of Tom Boonen's four Roubaix victories made the second round, with Fabian Cancellara's incredible 52km solo attack from 2010 also making the cut. Peter Sagan's spectacular 2018 escape, Johan Vansummeren's unexpected 2011 victory from the breakaway and last year's victory by Philippe Gilbert all advanced to round 2.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat A
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1995Franco Ballerini wins after two years of letdown10.80%
2009Tom Boonen solos to win over Filippo Pozzato after Thor Hushovd crashes16.10%
2010Fabian Cancellara strong solo sparks motor accusations60.70%
2013Cancellara out-sprints Sep Vanmarcke for his third12.50%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat B
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1999Andrea Tafi wins in Mapei sweep13.80%
2015John Degenkolb sprint victory15.80%
2016Mat Hayman out-sprints Boonen to win six weeks after collarbone break54.90%
2017Greg Van Avermaet wins fastest edition15.50%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat C
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
2001Servais Knaven leads Domo podium sweep9.20%
2002Johan Museeuw wins last muddy centenary edition26.70%
2006Cancellara solos to win after leaders disqualified at level crossing26.90%
2019Philippe Gilbert fulfils his destiny37.30%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat D
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1991Marc Madiot solo11.50%
1996Museeuw leads Mapei podium sweep21.20%
1997Guesdon stuns favourites in eight-man sprint11.90%
2018Peter Sagan escapes 54km out then beats Silvan Dillier55.40%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat E
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1998Ballerini wins Mapei podium sweep8.90%
2000Museeuw wins after leg injury22.70%
2007Stuart O'Grady goes solo38.00%
2008Boonen gets away to beat Cancellara30.40%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat F
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1990Planckaert photo finish over Bauer14.60%
2003Peter Van Petegem wins three-man sprint11.50%
2012Tom Boonen goes long, soloing for 52km to equal record40.30%
2014Niki Terpstra wins in tactical battle33.60%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat G
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1992Gilbert Duclos Lassalle wins solo16.00%
2004Magnus Backstedt sprint victory39.50%
2005Tom Boonen's first win over George Hincapie, Juan Antonio Flecha44.50%
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heat H
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1993Duclos Lassalle beats Ballerini in bike throw19.40%
1994Andrei Tchmil wins muddy edition35.60%
2011Johan Vansummeren stays away44.90%

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.