Van Vleuten, Van der Breggen, Pidcock, Bettiol and Urán to compete in inaugural Esports World Championships

Zwift will host the UCI esports world championships
Zwift will host the UCI esports world championships on December 9 (Image credit: Zwift)

Zwift has revealed details of the inaugural UCI Esports World Championships, scheduled for December 9, with Annemiek van Vleuten, Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, Anna van der Breggen, Victor Campenaerts, Esteban Chaves, Rigoberto Urán, Tom Pidcock, Alberto Bettiol, Cory Williams and Lawson Craddock all representing their nations in the 50km Zwift virtual race.     

A total of 20 national teams will ride the men's and women's races, with a number of wild cards awarded to riders to bring the total number of nations represented to 22.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Farrand
Head of News

Stephen is the most experienced member of the Cyclingnews team, having reported on professional cycling since 1994. He has been Head of News at Cyclingnews since 2022, before which he held the position of European editor since 2012 and previously worked for Reuters, Shift Active Media, and CyclingWeekly, among other publications.