US picks track worlds team

USA Cycling selected nine athletes to represent the US at the upcoming track worlds in Manchester, Great Britain at the end of March. Automatic nominees are Sarah Hammer (individual pursuit), Jennie Reed (sprint and keirin), Michael Blatchford (sprint), Michael Friedman (scratch race) and Taylor Phinney (individual pursuit) while discretionary nominees include Becky Quinn (points and scratch races), Adam Duvendeck (sprint), Bobby Lea (omnium) and Colby Pearce (points race). Pearce will also team with Friedman for the men's Madison.

US Team for 2008 UCI Track World Championships
Michael Blatchford (men's sprint)
Adam Duvendeck (men's sprint)
Michael Friedman (men's scratch race & Madison)
Sarah Hammer (women's individual pursuit)
Bobby Lea (men's omnium)
Colby Pearce (men's points race & Madison)
Taylor Phinney (men's individual pursuit)
Becky Quinn (women's scratch race & points race)
Jennie Reed (women's sprint & keirin)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1