Skip to main content

Team Type 1 announces Langkawi roster

For its first-ever participation to Le Tour de Langkawi, American Team Type 1 has designated a rider roster with experience in the Malaysian stage race, this year taking place from February 9-17. Under the guidance of team director Edward Beamon, who directed riders on the course for team Navigators-Insurance in 2005, the Team Type 1 includes several riders who have previously been part of Asia's biggest cycling tour.

Australian Matthew Wilson will be the team's captain, with the 30 year-old being assisted by Glen Chadwick, Moises Aldape, Ben Brooks, Fabio Calabria and Ian MacGregor. "We are all anxious to demonstrate just what this team is capable of, especially when we will be part of an important race like Le Tour de Langkawi and in front of the big number of spectators which the tour draws every year," said Beamon.

"Matt Wilson has been in good form in the early season and we all expect him to be a lot more aggressive and competitive in every stage. And we want him to win at least one or two stages with the aim of one of the riders completing the tour on the podium.

"But having said that, we realized that Langkawi is a very competitive cycling race and it will be a hard tour, no doubt."

Another rider on which Team Type 1 will be relying is New Zealander Chadwick, who will be the team's leader for the General Classification. Still, the three ProTour teams competing in Malaysia will begin Le Tour de Langkawi as the firm favourites.

"It is difficult to ascertain who will win as Langkawi has never been known to be an easy cycling tour and even without the climb up Genting Highlands, it is still just as tough," added Beamon.

The full Team Type 1 rider roster for Le Tour de Langkawi is: Matt Wilson (Aus), Moises Aldape (Mex), Ben Brooks (USA), Fabio Calabria (Aus), Glen Chadwick (NZl) and Ian MacGregor (USA).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1