Sinkewitz will lead PSK Whirlpool-Author

Patrik Sinkewitz

Patrik Sinkewitz (Image credit: AFP)

The Professional Continental team PSK Whirlpool-Author from the Czech Republic has established its complete roster for 2009. With the addition of German Patrik Sinkewitz, the total number of riders is 17, like in 2008. Six left the team and six riders joined for the new season.

The manager of PSK Whirlpool-Author, Vladimir Vavra, confirmed the new team hierarchy. "Patrik Sinkewitz is our new head leader."

Twenty-eight-year old Sinkewitz won Rund um den Henninger Turm in 2007 and the overall of the 2004 Deutschland Tour. He also had top five finishes in the Amstel Gold Race, Liège–Bastogne–Liège or La Flèche Wallonne.

In the 2007 Tour de France he was caught for doping and served a suspension until July of 2008.

Vávra was content with the collaboration of Sinkewitz with the German authorities. "He made an error and paid hard for it. We agreed his contract with the head sponsors and we are glad that he could join us. We need a big name who can win the hardest races. We are not the first team that takes a rider after punishment. Even Liquigas signed Basso."

Sinkewitz feels happy with the new squad. "We already had our first team meeting. I felt good with new colleagues. We have good team and I think we can achieve big things. Our programme is practically the same as when I was in T-Mobile. I have big motivation to achieve [good results]. I'm still good rider. I'm excited [to be with a] Czech team and I am looking forward to the new season."

Another German comes from the Professional Continental team 3C Gruppe, Matthias Friedemann. Czech riders to join are Martin Hebik (Sparta Praha), Frantisek Padour (Windoor's Pribram), Pavel Zitta and Antonin Linda.

Rene Andrle finished his active career, but will remain with the team as a directeur sportif. Andrle was riding for ONCE and Liberty Seguros. Other riders to leave are Radek Becka, Petr Cermak, Ondrej Sosenka, Patrick Keller and Michal Skvarka.

Petr Bencik, Tomas Buchacek, Jakub Danacik, Vojtech Dlouhy, Petr Kaltofen, Frantisek Kloucek, Stanislav Kozubek, Leopold König, Petr Kubias, Martin Mares and German sprinter Andre Schulze will continue with the team.(PP)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1