Schnell joins Trek VW 2007 team

Trek Bicycles and Volkswagen of America announced a continued partnership in support of the 2007 Trek-VW mountain bike racing team. The team represents more than a decade of racing partnership. For 2007, all riders from last year return; however, they will be joined by "Rad" Ross Schnell, who makes the leap to factory team from the ranks of the regional teams program. Returning members include Jeremiah Bishop, Susan Haywood, Lea Davison, and endurance specialist Chris Eatough.

Schnell made headlines in 2006 by showing his face at the front of many NMBS events over the course of the season. His most notable performances included a top five placing at the Deer Valley event, several Super-D wins, and racing in character as "Rad Ross" at the Snowmass short track where he sported a mullet hairdo, mustache, and vintage helmet, and sunglasses—and he cleared double jumps on the course with enough panache to gather a cheering crowd. Schnell expects to challenge for the podium at all US events and looks forward to tackling the World Cup circuit as well.

Bishop won the NMBS final at Snowmass and placed 8th (top American) at the world championships in New Zealand, capping the most consistent season of his career. He plans to attack the World Cup circuit as a top American contender with the hopes of securing a spot on the American Olympic team.

Haywood won national championships in both the short track and super D, and then won the 24-Hours of Adrenalin solo world championship in October. She, too, is gunning for UCI cross-country races, in a bid to land a spot on the US Olympic team.

Eatough took the 24-Hour solo national championship. The six-time 24 hour solo world champion will focus on 100 mile endurance events and regaining the 24-Hours of Adrenalin solo world title he lost in 2006.

Davison, sidelined for much of last year due to injury and illness, plans to prove herself in the NMBS national series and crack the top five at cross country and short track races.

These racers will be joined by more than 35 grassroots riders who are members of the regional teams program.

Jeremiah Bishop
Susan Haywood
Chris Eatough
Ross Schnell
Lea Davison
Dean Gore – Team Director
Zack Vestal – Manager
Chris Furer – Soigneur
Steve Borkoski – Mechanic
Dusty LaBarr – Mechanic

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1