Saunier Duval, Euskaltel Euskadi for Vuelta

By Monika Prell

The two Spanish teams Saunier Duval Prodir and Euskaltel Euskadi have announced their squads for the Vuelta a España. Under the supervision of Joxean Fernández Matxin and Sabino Angoitia, eight Spanish and one Italian rider will contest the Vuelta for Saunier Duval, with José Ángel Gómez Marchante leading the squad.

Gómez Marchante will be supported by the climbers Leonardo Piepoli, David de la Fuente, Rubén Lobato, Iker Camaño, Ángel Gómez and the three young riders in Javier Mejías, Arkaitz Durán and Alberto Fernández de la Puebla. It will be the first Vuelta for Mejías, Durán, Fernández de la Puebla and also for Iker Camaño. The Spanish squad, which arrives in Vigo today, will have Alberto Benítez, Rubens Bertogliati and Christophe Rinero on hand as reserve riders.

Euskaltel-Euskadi has announced Samuel Sánchez as the leader of its nine man Vuelta squad. He will be supported by the two strong riders in Haimar Zubeldia and Igor Antón, while sprint duo Iñaki Isasi and Koldo Fernández de Larrea are aiming for stage victories. The team, which will be under the direction of sport director Gorka Gerrikagoitia, will also include Iñigo Landaluze, Aitor Hernández, Dioni Galparsoro and Alan Pérez.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1