Skip to main content

Sager and Smith crowned open champions in the Mas o Menos

Jason Sager, repeat Mas O Menos Open Class Champion

Jason Sager, repeat Mas O Menos Open Class Champion (Image credit: Mike Gladu)

By Sue George with assistance from Mike Gladu

After the traditional lead-out by the Mystery Man opened the annual Mas O Menos race, Jason Sager ( won the Open Class Champion in the 100km event held over President's Day weekend. Sager battled Bryan Fawley (TX Tough San Jose) for much of the race while Even Plews (Capitol Subaru) rode alone in third behind them until the end when riders changed places.

Sager led Fawley the first of two times up the Tres Cuevas climb, and also claimed the cash bonus for first Open rider to the "Top of the Hill" 1866. Armando Zacarias and Nat Ross came next behind them. Fawley surrendered some ground before the finish and ended up third behind Sager and Plews in 4:07:30. Sager finished with a time of 4:05:03, over a minute ahead of Plews in second place with Fawley two and half minutes back in third.

Christina Smith (Lonestarworks/Austin Bikes) took the Open Women 100k winner at 4:51:08 and became a repeat winner in front of Jennifer Wilson (Titus) and Alice Pennington (S&M/Desalvo Custom Cycles), while Julia Kastner brought home the 19-29 100k win with a 6:16:53 and Zoe Nance took the 30-39 100k win in 6:05:58.

The race served as simultaneous stops on the 2008 Texas Championships Mountain Bike Series, the Hill Country Bicycle Works Championships Marathon Series and the USA Cycling National Ultra Endurance Calendar.

See full coverage of the Mas o Menos.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1