SA Commonwealth Games track squad announced

After a successful national championships in Bellville last weekend, South African track selectors Hein Kroff and Elrich Kulsen, along with team manager Tony Harding, have decided on a squad of 10 riders to make up the 2006 Commonwealth Games track squad.

These riders will be provided with equipment and will concentrate on forming a strong 4000m pursuit team. The riders that don't make the final pursuit team will be used in the other endurance track events (individual pursuit, points, scratch). "Rupert Rheeder proved to be the pursuit sensation of the championships and with some hard work and proper planning, we could see him contesting the individual pursuit in the not to distant future," said Harding.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1