Rabobank counting on experience in Amstel Gold

Michael Boogerd and Oscar Freire will spearhead Rabobank's charge at the Amstel Gold Race on Sunday where the Dutch team has a history of both victories and near misses. Boogerd, the current Dutch road race champion, has ridden the race on 11 occasions, beating Lance Armstrong for the win in 1999 and making the podium in the last four editions.

Milan-San Remo winner Freire will also be one of the favourites for victory atop the infamous Cauberg, having made the top-10 three times in eight attempts. In fact, the eight members of Rabobank's roster bring the experience of 36 participations to the start in Maastricht. And if that wasn't enough, directeur sportifs Frans Maasen and Erik Dekker are both on the race's roll of honour in 1991 and 2001 respectively.

Rabobank for Amstel Gold: Michael Boogerd, Oscar Freire, Juan Antonio Flecha, Thomas Dekker, Bram de Groot, Pieter Weening, Koos Moerenhout and Jan Boven. Reserves: Theo Eltink and Leon van Bon.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1