Quotes from the startline of Amstel Gold Race

The hilly classics began in earnest as the riders lined up in Maastricht for the start of the Amstel Gold Race. Seven former champions were present, including three-time and defending champion Philippe Gilbert. Other previous winners on show were Roman Kreuziger (2013), Enrico Gasparotto (2012), Damiano Cunego (2008), Stefan Schumacher (2007), Frank Schleck (2006) and Davide Rebellin (2004).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1