Skip to main content

New Zealand Worlds team picked, too

Rosara Joseph.

Rosara Joseph. (Image credit: Tour of Japan)

2006 Commonwealth Games mountain bike silver medalist Rosara Joseph will lead a 35-rider New Zealand mountain bike team at the 2007 Worlds.

Joseph, who has been based in Oxford in England for most of the past 10 months was the best placed elite New Zealander with 10th at the 2006 World Championships held in Rotorua. She is currently ranked 22nd in the world, with only limited starts due to school and road race commitments.

New Zealand's most experienced cross country rider, 29 year-old Kashi Leuchs, will lead the elite men's cross country team. Leuchs has had an impressive year with nine top ten finishes from 11 UCI points races this year and is currently ranked 10th in the world.

On the downhill squad, former world champions Scarlett Hagen and Vanessa Quin will be looking to improve on their year to date as both have suffered serious injuries, but will be fit for Fort William. Quin and Hagen, along with Jenna Makgill have been preparing in Europe as part of their build up to the world championships with Makgill currently holding a world ranking of seventh.

While the 2006 downhill Junior World Champion Cameron Cole has recently withdrawn from selection due to injury, a very strong men's downhill team will still start. National Champion Kieran Bennett, 2006 World Championship junior runner-up Sam Blenkinsop and in-form Justin Leov have all been selected. Blenkinsop is currently ranked 23rd and Leov 24th in the world.

Elite Men
Kashi Leuchs (XC)
Marcus Roy (XC)
Stu Houltham (XC)
Mike Northcott (XC)
Eric Drower (XC)
Justin Leov Blenheim (DH)
Nathan Rankin Levin (DH)
Sam Blenkinsop (DH)
Kieran Bennett (DH)
Glenn Haden (DH)
Mike Skinner (DH)

Elite Women
Rosara Joseph (XC)
Anja McDonald (XC)
Kaytee Boyd (XC)
Jennifer O'Connell (XC)
Jennifer Smith (XC)
Vanessa Quin (DH)
Scarlett Hagen (DH)
Jennifer Makgill (DH)
Amy Laird (DH)
Olivia Johnston (DH)
Harriet Harper (DH)

Under 23 Men
Clinton Avery (XC)

U19 Men
James Williamson (XC)
Alex MacGregor (XC)
Ashley Hough (XC)
Conor MacFarlane (XC)
Matthew Scoles (DH)
Peter Cooper (DH)
David Scandrett (DH)
Michael Langford (DH)
Eddie Masters (DH)

Under 23 Women
Carissa Wilkes (XC)

Under 19 Women
Samara Sheppard (XC)
Holly Kernohan-Smith (DH)

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1