Skip to main content

Giro prologue is second shortest in grand tour history

The 1.15 km prologue that marks the start of the 88th Giro d'Italia in Reggio Calabria is the second shortest stage in grand tour history, according to Infostradasports.com. In fact, the Giro boasts the five shortest stages, with a 1 km prologue to open the 1986 Giro, won by Urs Freuler, being the shortest. The others are 2 km (1978 Giro prologue), 2.2 km (1960 Giro stage 9b), 2.45 km (1962 Giro stage 13), 2.65 km (1971 Vuelta stage 11b), 3.2 km (1976 Vuelta prologue), 3.5 km (1966 Vuelta stage 1b), 3.5 km (1978 Vuelta stage 11b), and 3.79 km (1958 Vuelta stage 5a).

Tomorrow's prologue is designed to be fast, as it will be ridden in a straight line along the sea front of Reggio Calabria, with the wind the only potential obstacle. The first rider will start at 18:45 CEST, and Cyclingnews will be covering the stage live from start to finish (12:45 EDT (USA East)/09:45 PDT (USA West)/02:45 Sunday AEST (Australia East)).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1