Five Colombian continental teams ready for next season

Colombian Santiago Botero

Colombian Santiago Botero (Image credit: AFP)

By Hernan Alvarez

Five major Colombian teams are ready to race 2007 as continental teams for UCI competitions. The EPM-Orbitel team reached an agreement with star rider Santiago Botero for next season. Botero will serve as team leader and will guide the team's other 12 riders in local races. Colombia es Pasion will be an outfit with a bigger roster; they will have 24 riders. The Boyaca es Para Vivirla-Marche team will have16 cyclists, while Aguardiente Antioqueño-Idea and Indervalle have 16 and 12 riders respectively thus far.

Botero will be the greatest attraction inside Colombian cycling next season, but EPM-Orbitel also brings Giovanni Baez to its troop. Meanwhile, Colombia es Pasion is trying to sign Daniel Rincon, Edwin Parra, Freddy Gonzalez, Mauricio Ortega, and Sergio L. Henao. Boyaca es Para Vivirla-Marche Team has already reached a deal with Julian Becerra, Mario Rojas, and Ivan Casas. They will be joined by Freddy Piamonte.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1