Euskal Bizikleta one for the climbers

By Antonio J. Salmerón

Gómez Marchante (Saunier Duval), Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi), Patxi Vila (Lampre-Fondital), Oscar Sevilla (Relax-Gam), Paco Mancebo (Relax-Gam) and Iker Flores (Fuerteventura) are some of the favourites to win the Euskal Bizikleta which kicks off on June 8th in the Basque country of Spain. This UCI category 2.HC race will see a strong field of six ProTour squads: Saunier Duval, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Caisse D'Epargne, Lampre-Fondital, Liquigas, Saunier Duval and along with the Continental Professional Spanish teams.

A total of 437.6 kilometres of racing will be packed into only three stages. The first stage runs from Eibar to Tolosa, and include four category three climbs and one category one mountain over the 172.2 kilometre parcours. The second day will be divided in two partial stages: the first will run from Abadiño to Tolosa over 92 kilometres, and the second will be a time trial of 20.5 kilometres in Abadiño.

The final stage will be the most challenging, and over the 152 kilometres course between Iurreta and Eibar, the riders will face two category one climbs plus one category two and three category three hills before ascending to the finish line atop the category one, 586 metre high Arrate climb.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1