Skip to main content

Crocodile Trophy starts next week

The dusty, corrugated, pot-holed roads of Outback Australia await the twelfth edition of the famed Crocodile Trophy race, which gets underway next week on October 17th in the tropical city of Townsville. The race snakes its way through Australia in 13 stages and 1,400 kilometers. It gets its name from its hazardous river crossings, some of which contain crocodiles.

This year, the eclectic international race field will include more than 50 riders from Austria, Germany, Belgium, Italy, Denmark, France, Switzerland, Spain, Latvia, Japan, Canada, the USA and Australia.

Stage 1, Tuesday, Octber 17, Townsville - Townsville, 15 km
Stage 2, Wednesday, October 18, Herveys Range – Hidden Valley, 120 km
Stage 3, Thursday, Octber 19, Hidden Valley – Lake Lucy, 170 km 04.
Stage 4, Friday, October 20, Lake Lucy – Blencoe Falls, 124 km
Stage 5, Saturday, October 21, Blencoe Falls - Koombooloomba, 75 km
Stage 6, Sunday, October 22, Koombooloomba - Irvinebank, 125 km
Stage 7, Monday, October 23, Irvinebank - Chillagoe, 156 km
Stage 8, Tuesday, October 24, . Chillagoe (time trial), 30 km
Stage 9, Wednesday, October 25, Chillagoe - Mt. Mulgrave, 136 km
Stage 10, Thursday, October 26, Mt. Mulgrave - Laura, 148 km
Stage 11, Friday, October 27, Laura - Cooktown, 142 km
Stage 12, Saturday, October 28, Cooktown - Daintree, 135 km
Stage 13, Sunday, October 29, Cow Bay – Cow Bay, 30 km

Check back on Cyclingnews for complete, stage-by-stage coverage of the Crocodile Trophy.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1