Cantwell cleans-up Scody Cup

Fly V: Stage one winner Jonathan Cantwell gives his team salute in East Devonport.

Fly V: Stage one winner Jonathan Cantwell gives his team salute in East Devonport. (Image credit: Shane Goss)

Queensland’s Jonathan Cantwell has won the 2009 SCODY Cup road cycling series, following the release of the series’ final standings. The 27 year-old finished with 238 points to defeat Sydney’s Richard Lang and sprinter Joel Pearson, also of NSW.

Cantwell came from behind to claim the 14-year-old cup, after missing the first of the four race series’ events - the Lakes Oil Tour of Gippsland. He won the opening stage of the GMHBA Tour of Geelong, took overall honors in the Elgas Tour of the Murray River and then won three stages of the six-day Caterpillar Underground Mining Tour of Tasmania.

Cantwell joins a star-studded list of cup winners, including Leigh Howard, Peter McDonald, Wes Sulzburger, William Walker and Giro d’Italia stage winner David McKenzie.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final 2009 SCODY Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Jonathan Cantwell (Qld)238pts
2Richard Lang (NSW)215Row 1 - Cell 3
3Joel Pearson (NSW)176Row 2 - Cell 3
4David Kemp (Qld)140Row 3 - Cell 3
5Rohan Dennis (SA)106Row 4 - Cell 3
6Leigh Howard (Vic)103Row 5 - Cell 3
7Bernard Sulzburger (Tas)101Row 6 - Cell 3
8David Tanner (NSW)101Row 7 - Cell 3
9Kyle Marwood (Vic)97Row 8 - Cell 3
10Cameron Jennings (Qld)89Row 9 - Cell 3
11Ben Grenda (Tas)87Row 10 - Cell 3
12Luke Durbridge (WA)84Row 11 - Cell 3
13Hayden Brooks (Qld)81Row 12 - Cell 3
14William Clarke (Tas)77Row 13 - Cell 3
15Malcolm Rudolf (Qld)77Row 14 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Previous winners:
#Rider Name (Country) Team
2009Jonathan Cantwell (Qld)
2008Leigh Howard (Vic)
2007Peter McDonald (NSW)
2006Wes Sulzburger (Tas)
2005Robert McLachlan (ACT)
2004William Walker (Vic)
2003Robert McLachlan (ACT)
2002Leigh Egan (Vic)
2001David McKenzie (Vic)
2000Robert Tigello (Vic)
1999Eddie Salas (NSW)
1998Ben Brooks (NSW)
1997Robert Tigello (Vic)
1996Chris White (Vic)

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1