Belgian selection for World's

Belgian national coach Rudy De Bie has named his elite men's squad for the 2005 Cyclo-cross World's in St. Wendel on January 30. Reigning World Champion Bart Wellens (Fidea) will lead a strong team of eight riders, including Sven Nys, Sven Vanthourenhout and Bart Aernouts (Rabobank), Erwin Vervecken and Wim Jacobs (Fidea), Tom Vannoppen and Davy Commeyne (Palmans). Jan Verstraeten and Tim Van Nuffel are the reserves.

"All riders have earned their selection," said De Bie. "Vannoppen, Vervecken and Vanthourenhout can make the top three. But if Sven Nys doesn't get a cold, he is naturally the man."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1