Avanti Racing Team claims fifth straight NRS title

Heading into Saturday's Grafton to Iverell there was just one point separating Avanti Racing and CharterMason-Giant with the final race of the 2015 National Road Series (NRS) set to decide the overall team standings. Neither team was able to take the win at the 228km one-day race as Sean Lake became the first rider to win back-to-back events and end African Wildlife Safari's stint in NRS but it was Avanti taking out the overall team prize.

With CharterMason-Giant having zero riders finishing the race and Avanti placing two riders in the top ten, including Tom Davison in third place, it was the New Zealand registered Continental Avanti team celebrating overall honours for the fifth consecutive year six points ahead of CharterMason-Giant. Avanti also sealed the team and individual awards with Patrick Bevin confirmed as the 2015 overall champion.

"I love this race, and especially with my team-mates finishing second and fourth to get our best-ever team result – I am just stoked," said Lake, who joins Avanti in 2016.

Despite missing the three final races on the calendar, Bevin had done enough in the early season to ensure an insurmountable lead in the individual standings to become the sixth rider on Andrew Christie-Johnston and Steve Price's team to claim the individual overall honours. Bevin also becomes the second New Zealander to claim the award after teammate Joe Cooper who finished this season ranked third overall.

"To take the title is very satisfying personally and it really underlines a great overall season," said Bevin, who is currently in the United States on a training camp with Cannondale-Garmin who he joins next season. "Being the sixth Avanti Racing rider to win the Subaru National Road Series shows the amount of preparation and work that the team does to have top riders every year and manage them through a long season."

With Germany's Michael Schweizer (African Wildlife Safaris) second overall, the final rankings were dominated by foreign riders with Ben Hill (CharterMason Giant) the best placed Australian overall in sixth place with five out of the top ten domestic riders.

African Wildlife Safaris, who have raced their last NRS race, finish third on the standings 100 points behind Avanti. Budget Forklifts, who complemented its NRS calendar with several North American events, finished fourth on the standings on 64 points. Pat's Veg Cycling round out the top five teams on 54 points. In total, 30 teams claimed points across the 2015 season.

The NRS winners will receive their awards at the Cycling Australia awards night to be held in Melbourne early next month.

Final 2015 National Road Series standings

Swipe to scroll horizontally
NRS team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Avanti Racing Team190pts
2Charter Mason Giant Racing Team184Row 1 - Cell 3
3African Wildlife Safaris Cycling Team90Row 2 - Cell 3
4Team Budget Forklifts64Row 3 - Cell 3
5Pat's Veg Cycling54Row 4 - Cell 3
6Navitas Satalyst Racing Team50Row 5 - Cell 3
7search2retain-health.com.au Cycling Team32Row 6 - Cell 3
8Mobius Future Racing30Row 7 - Cell 3
9AMR Renault Racing Team27Row 8 - Cell 3
10OTOC Vault Racing25Row 9 - Cell 3
11Data #3 Symantec Racing Team p/b Scody25Row 10 - Cell 3
12Swiss Wellness Cycling Team23Row 11 - Cell 3
13Swiftcarbon PhysioHealth Cycling Team23Row 12 - Cell 3
14GPM Stulz20Row 13 - Cell 3
15Subaru NSWIS Development Team19Row 14 - Cell 3
16Team Scody Downunder13Row 15 - Cell 3
17Oliver's Real Food Racing13Row 16 - Cell 3
18Phoenix Cycling Collective10Row 17 - Cell 3
19Seight Cycling Team10Row 18 - Cell 3
20Subaru Albion Development Team9Row 19 - Cell 3
21Jayco/John West/VIS8Row 20 - Cell 3
22Wormall Civil CCS Cycling Team8Row 21 - Cell 3
23SASI/Callidus Cycling Team6Row 22 - Cell 3
24Dulux TIS Racing Team5Row 23 - Cell 3
25Anchor Point South Coast4Row 24 - Cell 3
26St. George Merida3Row 25 - Cell 3
27Team Lightsview3Row 26 - Cell 3
28Team McDonalds Downunder2Row 27 - Cell 3
29DH Racing1Row 28 - Cell 3
30GDT Provident Racing1Row 29 - Cell 3
Swipe to scroll horizontally
NRS individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti Racing Team82pts
2Michael Schweizer (Ger) African Wildlife Safaris Cycling Team51Row 1 - Cell 3
3Joseph Cooper (NZl) Avanti Racing Team43Row 2 - Cell 3
4Brad Evans (NZl) Pat's Veg Cycling39Row 3 - Cell 3
5Raphael Freienstein (Ger) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team38Row 4 - Cell 3
6Benjamin Hill (Aus) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team36Row 5 - Cell 3
7Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti Racing Team36Row 6 - Cell 3
8Scott Sunderland (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts32Row 7 - Cell 3
9Sean Lake (Aus) African Wildlife Safaris Cycling Team30Row 8 - Cell 3
10Sam Crome (Aus) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team27Row 9 - Cell 3
11Daniel Fitter (Aus) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team26Row 10 - Cell 3
12Matthew Clark (Aus) Avanti Racing Team24Row 11 - Cell 3
13Keagan Girdlestone (NZl) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team22Row 12 - Cell 3
14Jack Bobridge (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts18Row 13 - Cell 3
15Neil van der Ploeg (Aus) Avanti Racing Team18Row 14 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1