Australian team confirmed for 2013 UCI MTB & Trials World Championships

The final Australian team heading to South Africa for the 2013 UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships was confirmed on Tuesday. The team taking part in the championships will take place from August 26th to September 1st at Cascades MTB Park in Pietermaritzburg was announced last week, and has now been confirmed with athletes on their way to the titles.

Fresh off their ground-breaking seasons, Dan McConnell and Rebecca Henderson spearhead what MTBA Executive officer Tony Scott believes is Australia’s best world championship team yet.

"The Australian Team for 2013 is what I think is the best we have presented at a world championships," said Scott. "Dan McConnell has already performed [in cross country] at a level not seen in decades, as has Rebecca Henderson.

"Dean Lucas has taken out a downhill World Cup in the junior men category in 2013, while Tegan Molloy has also gained a podium spot while Janine Jungfels has won a World Cup silver medal [in trials]," said Scott.

"Add to these excellent results against the world's best we also have Sam Hill, Troy Brosnan and Michael Hannah who are building into the Worlds, as is Caroline Buchanan who is in form after recently being crowned BMX world champion.

"We have a stellar cast of athletes who will put Australia on the map in 2013," said Scott.

Australian team for the 2013 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

Elite men cross country: Daniel McConnell, Paul Van Der Ploeg.
U23 men cross country: Michael Crosbie.
U23 women cross country: Rebecca Henderson.
Elite men downhill: Bryn Atkinson, Troy Brosnan, Mitchel Delfs, Jared Graves, Michael Hannah, Sam Hill.
Elite women downhill: Caroline Buchanan, Tracey Hannah.
Observed Trials: Nathan Mummery, Lachan Sens, Janine Jungfels,
4X: Blake Neilson, Mitchell Scarr, Terence Scarr, Joey Vejvoda, Danielle Beecroft, Caroline Buchanan.
Junior men cross country: Chris Hamilton, Jack Lavis, Tasman Nankervis
Junior women cross country: Holly Harris.
Junior men downhill: Aidan Varley, Peter Knott, Thomas Crimmins, Ben Hill, Luke Ellison, Dean Lucas, Brent Smith.
Junior women downhill: Danielle Beecroft, Tegan Molloy.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1