Skip to main content

ASO award seven wildcard invitations to the Tour de France Femmes

Brugge-De Panne Women 2022
Brugge-De Panne Women 2022 (Image credit: Sprint Cycling Agency)

The organisers of the Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift have named the 24 teams that will take part in the first edition of the race in July.

The 14 WorldTour teams and three best-ranked Continental teams in 2021 automatically secured a place as per UCI regulations, with organiser ASO awarding seven wildcard places.

The seven include the British Le Col Wahoo team and AG Insurance–NXTG Team, which recently secured extra sponsorship thanks to support from QuickStep-AlphaVinyl team manager Patrick Lefevere.

French teams Arkéa Pro Cycling Team, Cofidis Women Team, Stade Rochelais Charente-Maritime and St Michel–Auber 93 were also invited as were Plantur-Pura from Belgium.

The WorldTour teams that received automatic invitations are: Canyon-SRAM Racing, EF Education-TIBCO-SVB, FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope, Human Powered Health, Liv Racing Xstra, Movistar Team Women, Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad, BikeExchange-Jayco, Team DSM, Jumbo-Visma, SD Worx, Trek-Segafredo, UAE Team ADQ and Uno-X Pro Cycling Team.

The Tour de France Femmes will be held between July 24-31, with the race starting under the Eiffel Tower in the centre of Paris on the same day the men’s Tour France finishes in the French capital and ending on the same Champs-Élysées finish.

The Tour de France Femmes covers 1,029 kilometres during eight stages, with two stages for the puncheurs, a stage packed with gravel sectors, four flat stages that could either end in bunch sprints or breakaway wins and then final back-to-back mountain stages.

The final stage is the queen stage, with a finish atop La Super Planche des Belles Filles. The 123-kilometre stage takes in two major climbs before reaching the key finale and the iconic ascent to the finish.

Cyclingnews will have complete coverage of the Tour de France Femmes, with live updates, stage reports, news and exclusive interviews.

Tour de France Femmes 2022 teams

  • Canyon-SRAM Racing
  • EF Education-TIBCO-SVB
  • FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope
  • Human Powered Health Women
  • Liv Racing Xstra
  • Movistar Team Women
  • Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad
  • BikeExchange-Jayco Women
  • Team DSM Women
  • Jumbo-Visma
  • SD Worx
  • Trek-Segafredo Women
  • UAE Team ADQ
  • Uno-X Pro Cycling Women
  • Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team
  • Parkhotel Valkenburg
  • Valcar-Travel & Service
  • AG Insurance-NXTG
  • Arkéa Pro Cycling Team
  • Cofidis Women Team
  • Le Col Wahoo
  • Plantur-Pura
  • Stade Rochelais Charente Maritime
  • St Michel-Auber 93

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen is the most experienced member of the Cyclingnews team, having reported on professional cycling since 1994. He has held the position of European editor since 2012 and previously worked for Reuters, Shift Active Media, and Cycling Weekly, among other publications.