An Post Sean Kelly announce 2009 team

The An Post Seán Kelly Cycling team has revealed its roster for 2009, with five new high-profile signings confirmed. Among these is Irish rider David O'Loughlin, recent winner of a bronze medal at the World Cup in Beijing.

The 2009 An Post Sean Kelly Team includes five Irish cyclists, with 2008 riders Páidi O'Brien, Stephen Gallagher, Mark Cassidy and Ronan McLaughlin all re-signed and the notable new addition David O'Loughlin.

"I'm really looking forward to racing with the An Post team and the race programme this year," O'Loughlin said. "I'm particularly excited about working with Sean Kelly, as that is a dream come true to be honest."

"I learnt a lot last year and I think combining the track and road racing this year will work well, as they can both compliment each other," he added.

Team manager Kurt Bogaerts has signed former Belgian champion Niko Eeckhout, with the 38-year-old Classics rider providing valuable experience and leadership for the Merchtem based squad. The team has also signed two Belgian riders, Steven Van Vooren from the American Cycling Centre team and Jeff Peters, who was part of the 2008 Profel Prorace team.

The An Post squad will return to Ireland for the nation's top races, the Rás, Tour of Ireland and national championships.

"We are finalising our racing calendar for the year but it looks like the team will be back in Ireland for the first time on May 17th for the Rás," said Sean Kelly. "We are already looking forward to it as it's always great to return home and showcase our success as a continental team. In 2008, Stephen Gallagher was the first Irish winner in four year's and he will be back to defend his title this year."

An Post Sean Kelly 2009 roster: Paidi O'Brien, Mark Cassidy, Stephen Gallagher, Ronan McLaughlin, David O'Loughlin, Benny De Schrooder, Kenny Lisabeth, Steven Van Vooren, Jef Peeters, Niko Eeckhout, and Matt Brammeier.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1