A winning Cunego to Liege-Bastogne-Liege

Damiano Cunego (Lampre)

Damiano Cunego (Lampre) (Image credit: Sirotti)

Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Fondital) won the Giro del Trentino on Friday for the third time. He also won in 2004 and 2006. Fresh off his overall victory, Cunego will lead his team as captain for Liege-Bastogne-Liege, where he was third last year.

Cunego will aim for the win this year, with the help of Matteo Bono, David Loosli, Morris Possoni, Daniele Righi, Sylvester Szmyd, Tadej Valjavec, and Javier Vila. Fabrizio Bontempi directs the squad, with the same help from staff who supported the team in Fleche Wallone.

Director Bontempi said, "The team is a good mix of cyclists with qualities. We will ready in every moment of the race. Damiano has just won Giro del Trentino; his morale will be very good."

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1