Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne 2023

Latest News from the Race

KUURNE, BELGIUM - FEBRUARY 27: (L-R) Caleb Ewan of Australia and Team Lotto Soudal on second place, race winner Fabio Jakobsen of Netherlands and Team Quick-Step - Alpha Vinyl and Hugo Hofstetter of France and Team Arkéa - Samsic on third place pose on the podium ceremony after the 74th Kuurne - Bruxelles - Kuurne 2022 a 195,1km race from Kuurne to Kuurne / @KuurneBxlKuurne / on February 27, 2022 in Kuurne, Belgium. (Photo by Bas Czerwinski/Getty Images)

2022 winner Fabio Jakobsen celebrates his sprint victory with the race's prize of a toy donkey (Image credit: Bas Czerwinski/Getty Images))

Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne is a one-day race in Belgium that forms part of the Spring Classics campaign. 

Together with Omloop Het Nieuwsblad on the preceding Saturday, it forms part of what's known as the Opening Weekend of the Belgian Classics season – a tone-setter ahead of the bigger prizes to be won in the main spring period. 

While the Omloop shares a similar race identity to the Tour of Flanders, Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne is more geared towards the sprinters, with Mark Cavendish a two-time winner.

That has been changing in recent years as the organisers have sought to intensify the route and racing has become more open, but two of the last four editions have culminated in bunch sprints, with Fabio Jakobsen and Mads Pedersen speeding to glory.

As indicated by the name, the race starts and finishes in Kuurne, but, although it heads southeast through the Flemish Ardennes, it doesn't come anywhere near Brussels.

The winner of Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne receives a toy donkey, stemming from the not-so-affectionate nickname for locals of this sleepy town just outside of Kortrijk. 

2023 Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne teams


Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne race history

Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne was first held in 1945 and is now about to hold its 74th edition.

Valère Olivier was the first winner and Belgians have gone on to dominate the race, with a total of 53 home winners. Of them, the decorated Tom Boonen holds the record of three victories, in 2007, 2009, and 2014. 

The late February date has often seen wintery conditions, and the race has had to be cancelled on three occasions: 1986, 1993, and 2013. That makes it 73 editions in the past 76 years, but there have in fact been 74 winners, with Alfred De Bruyne and Leon Van Daele sharing the honours in 1961 after a close finish that the officials were unable to call. 

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Past winners
#Rider Name (Country) Team
2022Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep
2021Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
2020Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-Quickstep
2019Bob Jungels (Lux) Deceuninck-Quickstep
2018Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
2017Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
2016Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
2015Mark Cavendish (GBr) Etixx–Quick-Step
2014Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma–Quick-Step
2013No race due to snow
2012Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Sky


  • Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne 2023
    26 February 2023 | Kuurne | 1.Pro
    • Elite Men

Top News on the Race

Related Features