Aviva Women's Tour 2016

Latest News from the Race

2016 Aviva Women's Tour overview


Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) sealed overall victory at the 2016 Aviva Women’s Tour. The world champion finished safely at the head of the main peloton on the finale stage 5 and won the overall by 11 seconds ahead of Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Cervelo Bigla), while Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle-High5) finished third, a further two seconds back. Marianne Vos (Rabo Liv) finished fourth overall, 18 seconds behind Armitstead.



2016 Aviva Women's Tour final GC - top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team16:00:39
2Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team0:00:11
3Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High50:00:13
4Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:18
5Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS0:00:20
6Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Liv-Plantur0:00:40
7Amy Pieters (Ned) Wiggle High50:00:43
8Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High50:00:49
9Gracie Elvin (Aus) Orica-AIS0:00:50
10Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur0:00:53


2016 Aviva Women's Tour Overview

The 2016 Aviva Women’s Tour will be the third running of the race and this year’s edition is set to be the toughest one yet. After requests from the riders, the race organisers upped the amount of climbing over the five stages.

The Aviva Women’s Tour sets off from Southwold on June 15 and brings the riders across the midlands through Stratford-upon-Avon and Nottingham, and then up north to Ashbourne and Chesterfield. The final stage takes the peloton from Northampton to Kettering in one of the longest stages of the race.

Lisa Brennauer will be the defending champion in June after taking victory over sprinter Jolien D’hoore in 2015.

Watch the promo below and click here to subscribe to the Cyclingnews video channel.


Provisional start list


2015 Aviva Women's Tour general classification

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Velocio - SRAM15:03:24
2Jolien D'Hoore (Bel) Wiggle Honda0:00:06
3Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:07
4Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica - Ais0:00:13
5Hannah Barnes (GBr) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team0:00:14
6Simona Frapporti (Ita) Ale Cipollini0:00:26
7Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:00:29
8Alexis Ryan (USA) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team0:00:30
9Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.89Row 8 - Cell 2
10Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Ale CipolliniRow 9 - Cell 2


Top News on the Race

Related Features