Kopecky wins inaugural Vuelta a la Comunitat Valenciana Feminas

Lotto Soudal rider beats Alice Barnes in sprint

Lotte Kopecky (Lotto Soudal Ladies) got her season off to a winning start with victory in the inaugural edition of the Vuelta a la Comunitat Valenciana Feminas. The multi-discipline rider took a clear victory in the sprint finish, beating Canyon-SRAM’s Alice Barnes by almost a bike's length, with Kopecky's teammate Thi That Nguyen taking third.

Kopecky has been working hard on the track over the winter months, winning the Madison event with Jolien D’hoore at the penultimate round in Cambridge, New Zealand, and finishing second in the event in Hong Kong last month. Her main focus is the Track World Championships in Poland in March, but her track form has clearly transferred to the road.

Three years after reviving the men’s stage, organisers introduced a one-day women’s race to take place ahead of the final stage of the men’s event. Many of the top teams will not be starting their European season until the separately organised Setmana Valenciana stage race later this month, but the event still attracted some big hitters, including home team Movistar, Canyon-SRAM, Lotto Soudal and Bigla Pro Cycling.

The close to pan-flat 88.5km course, which would be the same for the men later in the day, took the riders from Paterna on the North West of Valencia, away from the city before returning for four laps around Valencia itself.

With the parcours, a sprint finished seemed a formality and the major teams looked to control the racing. On home roads, it was Movistar that did much of the work, with assistance from Lotto Soudal. There were some attempts at getting away, but nothing came to fruition. The one major mid-race skirmish was for the intermediate sprint with Ale Cipollini’s Jelena Eric taking the full points ahead of Silvia Zanardi.

Ultimately, the predicted sprint finish came with Kopecky converting her track form into a victory on the road, the first for the Lotto Soudal team this season.

Cyclingnews is proud to introduce the first episode of our Cyclingnews Podcast Women's Edition, brought to you by Sportful, Pinarello and Floyd's of Leadville.

Cyclingnews Podcast Women's Edition Banner

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lotte Kopecky (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies2:08:19 
2Alice Barnes (GBr) Canyon-SRAM  
3Thi That Nguyen (Vie) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
4Silvia Persico (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
5Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
6Roxane Fournier (Fra) Movistar Team Women  
7Chiara Consonni (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
8Claudia Koster (Ned) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
9Sara Mustonen (Swe) Health Mate-Ladies Team  
10Rachele Barbieri (Ita) BePink  
11Maria Vittoria Sperotto (Ita) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
12Maria Martins (Por) Sopela Women's Team  
13Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
14Agnieta Francke (Ned) Belori Womens Team  
15Lara Vieceli (Ita) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
16Sandra Alonso Dominguez (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
17Jelena Eric (Srb) Ale Cipollini  
18Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale Cipollini  
19Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
20Nicola Juniper (GBr) Mexx Watersley Womens Cycling Team  
21Kylie Waterreus (Ned) Health Mate-Ladies Team  
22Gladys Verhulst (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women  
23Ella Harris (NZl) Canyon-SRAM  
24Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
25Gloria Rodriguez Sanchez (Spa) Movistar Team Women  
26Hannah Ludwig (Ger) Canyon-SRAM  
27Nerea Nuno Inglesias (Spa) Rio Miera  
28Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon-SRAM  
29Katia Ragusa (Ita) BePink  
30Lucie Lahaye (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women  
31Annelies Dom (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
32Alana Castrique (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
33Leah Thomas (USA) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
35Elise Chabbey (Swi) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
36Ainara Elbusto Arteaga (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
37Sandra Dos Santos (Por) Eneicue Cycling Team  
38Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Den) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
39Aida Nuno Palaco (Spa) Rio Miera  
40Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez (Spa) Movistar Team Women  
41Corinna Lechner (Ger) Mexx-Watersley Womens Cycling Team  
42Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Movistar Team Women  
43Diana Carolina Pe–uela Martinez (Col) Ale Cipollini  
44Fien Delbaere (Bel) Health Mate-Ladies Team  
45Desiree Ehrler (Swi) Mexx-Wattersley Womens Cycling Team  
46Sarah Rijkes (Aut) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
47Tanja Erath (Ger) Canyon-SRAM  
48Silvia Pollicini (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling  
49Natalie Grinczer (GBr) Bizkaia-Durango  
50Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Can) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
51Sandra Trevilla (Spa) Rio Miera  
52Teresa Ripoll Sabate (Spa) Tactic Women Team  
53Anais Morichon (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women  
54Irene Mendes Melgarejo (Spa) Rio Miera  
55Alessia Bulerri (Ita) Eneicue Cycling Team  
56Esther Meisels (Isr) Health Mate-Ladies Team  
57Tereza Medvedova (Svk) BePink  
58Clara Koppenburg (Ger) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
59Nicole Hanselmann (Swi) Bigla Pro Cycling Team  
60Lija Laizane (Lat) Eneicue Cycling Team  
61Cristina Martinez Bonafe (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango  
62Christina Perchtold (Aut) Health Mate-Ladies Team  
63Silvia Zanardi (Ita) BePink  
64Ariadna Trias Jordan (Spa) Sopela Women's Team0:00:13 
65Giorgia Bariani (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
66Mireia Trias Jordan (Spa) Sopela Women's Team  
67Noemie Abgrall (Fra) Maritime Women Cycling  
68Lisa Groothuesheidkamp (Ned) Mexx-Watersley Womens Cycling Team  
69Alba Teruel Ribes (Spa) Movistar Team Women  
70Sandra Moral Ventosinos (Spa) Tactic Women Team  
71Andrea Fraile Mas (Spa) Eneicue Cycling Team  
72Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling  
73Noemi Ferre Fernandez (Spa) Tactic Women Team  
74Chantal Hoffmann (Lux) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
75Mireia Benito Pellicer (Spa) Tactic Women Team  
76Alicia Gonzalez Blanco (Spa) Movistar Team Women  
77Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) BePink0:00:18 
78Chiara Perini (Ita) BePink  
79Ziortza Isasi Cristobal (Spa) Eneicue Cycling Team0:00:20 
80Alessia Vigilia (Ita) Valcar-Cylance Cycling0:00:54 
81Paula Sanmartin Rodriguez (Spa) Eneicue Cycling Team0:01:33 
82Jeniffer Alejandra Puentes Barragan (Col) Aleata-CC Farto0:01:39 
83Manon Minaud (Fra) Charente-Maritime Women0:02:23 
84Sara Martin (Spa) Sopela Womens Team0:02:34 
Back to top