Belomoyna wins U23 women's cross country

Ukrainian rider leads overall World Cup standings

Round four of the cross country series of the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup opened with the junior and under 23 women's and under 23 men's races in La Bresse, France, on Saturday. The under 23 women's World Cup leader Yana Belomoyna (Bi&Esse-Infotre Protek) solidified her lead when rival Jolanda Neff (Wheeler-IXS) crashed out of the race.

It initially looked like Neff would repeat her dominating performance from a week ago, as she quickly built a one minute plus lead over Belomoyna. However, the Swiss rider crashed heavily on the third lap, hitting her knee, and pulled out of the race shortly afterward.

Belomoyna easily held on for her second win of the season, while a battle developed for the remaining podium places. South Africa's Candice Neethling initially was in third, but faded in the final lap, and was overtaken by both the Australian national champion Rebecca Henderson and Neff's teammate Samara Sheppard, who took the third and final podium spot.

Full Results

Under 23 women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yana Belomoyna (Ukr) Bi&Esse - Infotre Protek1:23:33 
2Rebecca Henderson (Aus)0:01:37 
3Samara Sheppard (NZl) Wheeler - IXS Team0:02:21 
4Candice Neethling (RSA)0:02:22 
5Paula Gorycka (Pol) 4F E-Vive Racing Team0:04:36 
6Monika Zur (Pol) 4F E-Vive Racing Team0:04:49 
7Vivienne Meyer (Swi) Colnago Sudtirol0:05:40 
8Helen Grobert (Ger)0:07:22 
9Mona Eiberweiser (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team0:07:27 
10Michelle Hediger (Swi) Fischer - BMC0:07:31 
11Andréanne Pichette (Can)0:09:21 
12Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) Bikepark.Ch Craft0:09:35 
13Julie Berteaux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix0:10:33 
14Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr) Bi&Esse - Infotre Protek0:11:07 
15Laura Valentina Abril Restrepo (Col)0:11:37 
16Alessia Bulleri (Ita)0:11:56 
17Vendula Kuntova (Cze) GT Bicycles Opportunity0:12:19 
18Marion Azam (Fra) Definitive Spectra.Tec ASPTT0:12:41 
19Karla Stepanova (Cze)0:14:09 
20Jovana Crnogorac (Srb) Salcano Factory Team0:14:51 
21Kateryna Naberezhna (Ukr) ISD MTB Team0:15:22 
22Tina Kindlhofer (Aut)0:15:30 
23Zuzana Pirzkallova (Cze)0:15:56 
24Miranda Agusti Sanchez (Spa)0:16:34 
25Marta Pastore (Ita) Hard Rock Canossa Merida0:17:20 
-1lapYuval Bar Ziv (Isr)  
-1lapAurea Ruiz Garcia (Spa)  
-1lapAnais Simon (Fra)  
-2lapsFabienne Andres (Swi)  
DNFJolanda Neff (Swi) Wheeler - IXS Team  
DNFEkaterina Anoshina (Rus) Team Protek  
DNFKajsa Snihs (Swe)  
DNFLorraine Truong (Swi) BH - SR Suntour - Peisey Vallandry  
DNFLaura Bietola (Can) Scott-3Roxracing  
DNFAnna Oberparleiter (Ita) Hard Rock Canossa Merida  
DNFClaire Oakley (Irl) Wxc World Racing  
DNSSerena Calvetti (Ita) Torpado Surfing Shop  
DNSVirginie Pointet (Swi) Jb Felt Team  
Under 23 women World Cup standings after four rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yana Belomoyna (Ukr) Bi&Esse - Infotre Protek320 pts
2Rebecca Henderson (Aus)181 
3Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus) Team Protek174 
4Jolanda Neff (Swi) Wheeler - IXS Team140 
5Paula Gorycka (Pol) 4F E-Vive Racing Team140 
6Candice Neethling (RSA)126 
7Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut) Bikepark.Ch Craft125 
8Samara Sheppard (NZl) Wheeler - IXS Team122 
9Mona Eiberweiser (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing Team103 
10Kajsa Snihs (Swe)97 
11Barbara Benko (Hun) Focus MIG Team92 
12Vivienne Meyer (Swi) Colnago Sudtirol88 
13Helen Grobert (Ger)86 
14Michelle Hediger (Swi) Fischer - BMC74 
15Monika Zur (Pol) 4F E-Vive Racing Team73 
16Julie Berteaux (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix46 
17Serena Calvetti (Ita) Torpado Surfing Shop42 
18Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr) Bi&Esse - Infotre Protek36 
19Virginie Pointet (Swi) Jb Felt Team33 
20Andréanne Pichette (Can)28 
21Vendula Kuntova (Cze) GT Bicycles Opportunity21 
22Jitka Skarnitzlova (Cze) Rubena Auto-Mencik Specialized17 
23Ashleigh Parker-Moffatt (RSA)14 
24Marion Azam (Fra) Definitive Spectra.Tec ASPTT13 
25Laura Valentina Abril Restrepo (Col)12 
26Angela Egeland (RSA)12 
27Alessia Bulleri (Ita)10 
28Simone Vosloo (RSA)10 
29Kateryna Naberezhna (Ukr) ISD MTB Team10 
30Karla Stepanova (Cze)7 
31Lisa Rabensteiner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol7 
32Jovana Crnogorac (Srb) Salcano Factory Team6 
33Tina Kindlhofer (Aut)4 
34Regina Genser (Ger)4 
35Zuzana Pirzkallova (Cze)3 
36Anna Oberparleiter (Ita) Hard Rock Canossa Merida3 
37Miranda Agusti Sanchez (Spa)2 
38Laura Bietola (Can) Scott-3Roxracing2 
39Ingrid Sofie Jacobsen (Nor)2 
40Marta Pastore (Ita) Hard Rock Canossa Merida1 
41Lorraine Truong (Swi) BH - SR Suntour - Peisey Vallandry1 


Back to top