Bishop and Haywood in control

Bishop and Haywood repeat stage wins, remain atop overall pro standings

Jeremiah Bishop and Sue Haywood held onto their leads at the Pisgah Mountain Bike Stage Race after the first full stage of racing, the Suspension Experts White Squirrel Loop stage, on Friday.

Bishop barely held off Sam Koerber for the elite men's win. Both riders finished within one minute of each other.  Further back, Evan Plews was third, at 11:01, and Christian Tanguy was fourth at 12:06.  Harlan Price was fifth, over 20 minutes back.

In the elite women's race, Sue Haywood held a strong lead of 13:50 over second place Carey Lowery.  Cheryl Sornson was third at 24:06 ahead of Brenda Simril in fourth. About one hour behind, Janel Demeter finished fifth.

The elite 40+ men's category is packing some heat with Bill Lanzilotta, Morgan Olsson and Bob Koerber battling it out.

Racers faced courses that had seen a good bit of rain the past few days. Stage 1 started out in light, misty rain and in temperatures that have been chilly for this time of year. Weather reports are calling for snowfall in the higher elevations tonight. However, racers have been enjoying the singletrack of Pigah.

Race note:  Local favorite in the Elite 40+ men's category, Bob Koerber, father of Sam Koerber, raced nearly the entire stage 1 with no front brake.  He is hoping for better mechanical luck tomorrow.


Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremiah Bishop3:30:47 
2Sam Koerber0:00:45 
3Evan Plews0:11:01 
4Christian Tanguy0:12:06 
5Harlan Price0:22:27 
6Colby Pearce0:28:44 
7Frank Webber0:52:26 
8Drew Scharns0:54:47 
9Tim Dougherty11:29:13 
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Susan Haywood4:32:15 
2Carey Lowery0:13:50 
3Cheryl Sornson0:24:06 
4Brenda Simril0:29:40 
5Janel Demeter1:00:19 
Elite men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bill Lanzilotta4:08:33 
2Morgan Olsson0:03:18 
3Bob Koerber0:05:39 
4Timothy Hopkin0:09:31 
5Bradley Cobb0:14:21 
6Lee Simril0:53:26 
7Chris Goddard1:06:12 
DNSAndy Applegate  
Men 29 & under
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremy Edge4:03:40 
2Peter Butt0:20:49 
3Jeff Zimmerman1:14:09 
Open women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Denise Sauerbrey5:55:21 
2Anet Lamberson0:08:10 
3Sarah Miller1:23:33 
4Lindsay Ann Rodkey3:44:43 
Men 30-39
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Garth Prosser4:00:57 
2Mike Coco0:05:37 
3John Hughes0:21:53 
4Mike Schultz0:22:14 
5Michael Nixon0:28:57 
6Justin Mace0:29:26 
7Andrew Christman0:35:22 
8Perry Thomas0:43:59 
9Jeff S Plassman1:07:57 
10Jason Luque1:12:11 
11Kevin J Tobin1:27:17 
12Marc Calderone1:39:57 
13Stephen Janes1:42:35 
14John Clasen2:23:13 
15Graham Averill3:34:16 
16David William Goodall4:55:14 
Men 40+
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Todd Henne4:26:18 
2Alex Hawkins0:12:29 
3John Miller0:19:22 
4Geoff Calderone0:21:43 
5Mike Hufhand0:48:44 
6Patrick McMahon0:53:19 
7Van Council1:03:06 
8Kenny Cochran1:07:10 
9John Head1:38:19 
10Bruce E Belden1:58:09 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Geoffrey Bergmark4:11:06 
2Tim Dickson0:08:07 
3Jason Morgan0:12:10 
4Brad Welch0:21:06 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ed Hein4:41:18 
1Bill Nagel4:42:18 
2Stephen Tebbett0:17:05 
2James Poole0:02:21 
3Shawn McCann0:10:07 
3Jon Magnuson0:10:08 
4Scott Miller0:25:20 
4Brad Jacobs0:25:22 
5Christopher Danz1:09:31 
5David Swan1:09:33 
Elite men general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremiah Bishop3:52:28 
2Sam Koerber0:02:24 
3Christian Tanguy0:13:24 
4Evan Plews0:13:49 
5Harlan Price0:23:08 
6Colby Pearce0:29:32 
7Frank Webber0:57:38 
8Drew Scharns0:58:50 
9Tim Dougherty11:32:16 
Elite women general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Susan Haywood4:59:50 
2Carey Lowery0:14:41 
3Cheryl Sornson0:24:56 
4Brenda Simril0:32:33 
5Janel Demeter1:01:38 
Elite men 40+ general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Bill Lanzilotta4:34:05 
2Morgan Olsson0:03:06 
3Bob Koerber0:07:04 
4Timothy Hopkin0:10:04 
5Bradley Cobb0:14:57 
6Lee Simril0:55:36 
7Chris Goddard1:07:35 
Men 29 & under general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremy Edge4:29:54 
2Peter Butt0:19:03 
3Jeff Zimmerman1:15:50 
Open women general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anet Lamberson6:35:31 
2Denise Sauerbrey0:01:06 
3Sarah Miller1:21:24 
4Lindsay Ann Rodkey3:49:47 
Men 30-39 general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Garth Prosser4:27:09 
2Mike Coco0:05:56 
3John Hughes0:22:09 
4Mike Schultz0:22:30 
5Justin Mace0:30:25 
6Andrew Christman0:38:30 
7Perry Thomas0:44:03 
8Michael Nixon0:55:43 
9Jeff S Plassman1:09:40 
10Jason Luque1:15:07 
11Kevin J Tobin1:30:30 
12Marc Calderone1:47:04 
13Stephen Janes1:48:31 
14John Clasen2:25:08 
15Graham Averill3:44:32 
16David William Goodall5:07:14 
Men 40+ general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Todd Henne4:51:56 
2Alex Hawkins0:15:14 
3John Miller0:19:21 
4Geoff Calderone0:26:06 
5Mike Hufhand0:53:33 
6Patrick McMahon0:59:57 
7Van Council1:10:35 
8Kenny Cochran1:11:35 
9John Head1:46:33 
10Bruce E Belden2:06:44 
Singlespeed general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Geoffrey Bergmark4:36:09 
2Tim Dickson0:08:56 
3Jason Morgan0:13:15 
4Brad Welch0:23:34 
Team general classification after stage 1
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ed Hein5:06:34 
1Bill Nagel5:09:04 
2Stephen Tebbett0:19:45 
2James Poole0:02:03 
3Shawn McCann0:09:35 
3Jon Magnuson0:11:06 
4Scott Miller0:26:02 
4Brad Jacobs0:26:45 
5Christopher Danz1:11:59 
5David Swan1:12:54 


Back to top