Atherton wins women's downhill

Pugin finishes second ahead of World Cup leader Moseley

Rachel Atherton (Commencal) snatched victory today with a strong performance at the fifth round of the women's downhill World Cup in Windham, New York. Atherton's winning time was 2:50:029. She recorded the fastest splits everywhere on the course and was delighted with victory. Atherton also won on the Windham track last year in the World Cup final.

"I love this track," said Atherton. "It's short, which suits me. It was really dry so I knew I had to go fast throughout. I'm stoked to be number one here today."

Floriane Pugin (Scott 11) claimed second, 1.348 seconds behind Atherton. Pugin was the fastest qualifier and was expected to dominate the day. However, although her split on the top of the course was the second fastest, it was almost four seconds slower than Atherton. World champion Tracy Moseley (Trek World Racing), the World Cup leader, was third, 2.671 seconds back.

The top North American was Canadian national champion Micaylo Gatto in ninth, just ahead of US national champion Jill Kintner in 10th place. Gatto was one of the early leaders before a succession of riders began chipping away at the top time.

Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) was the first under three minutes, but then Myriam Nicole (Riding Addiction-Commencal) recorded the first sub-2:55 time. Moseley, third from last to start, knocked 1.4 seconds off of Nicole's time, but then Atherton smashed that time by 2.671 seconds. Pugin, starting last slipped in between Atherton and Moseley.

In the World Cup points standings Atherton gained enough points solidify her third place position at 820 points, and could still surpass Pugin with two races to go. Continuing as the points leader is Moseley with 1,080 points, followed by Pugin with with 980. The women's World Cup title is far from decided.

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rachel Atherton (GBr) Commencal0:02:50.029 
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott 110:00:01.348 
3Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing0:00:02.671 
4Myriam Nicole (Fra) Riding Addiction Commencal0:00:04.058 
5Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 110:00:08.719 
6Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria0:00:08.853 
7Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain0:00:08.877 
8Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Team GR0:00:10.344 
9Micayla Gatto (Can)0:00:10.377 
10Jill Kintner (USA)0:00:12.324 
11Jessica Stone (GBr)0:00:13.809 
12Miranda Miller (Can)0:00:13.930 
13Miriam Ruchti (Swi)0:00:14.376 
14Manon Carpenter ° (GBr) Madison Saracen0:00:14.841 
15Jacqueline Harmony (USA)0:00:15.166 
16Céline Gros (Fra) Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie0:00:16.377 
17Joanna Petterson (RSA)0:00:17.253 
18Katy Curd (GBr)0:00:18.454 
19Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Team GR0:00:25.589 
20Lauren Daney ° (USA)0:00:52.723 
21Melissa Buhl (USA)0:00:55.768 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Trek World Racing96 pts
2Santa Cruz Syndicate72 
4Scott 1157 
5Giant Factory Off-Road Team54 
6MS Evil Racing44 
7Lapierre International44 
8Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz33 
9Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain32 
10Devinci Global Racing30 
11Riding Addiction Commencal26 
12Mondraker Factory Team21 
13Chain Reaction Cycles / Nukeproof21 
14Alpine Commencal Austria20 
15Team GR18 
16SC - Intense16 
17CG Racing Brigade12 
18Team Sunn Montgenevre9 
19Madison Saracen7 
20Labyrinth Shimano Racing Team7 
21Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie5 
22Team Cingolani Trek1 
Elite women World Cup standings after five rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tracy Moseley (GBr) Trek World Racing1080 pts
2Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott 11980 
3Rachel Atherton (GBr) Commencal820 
4Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Team Maxxis - Rocky Mountain625 
5Myriam Nicole (Fra) Riding Addiction Commencal569 
6Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott 11475 
7Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria437 
8Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Team GR430 
9Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Team GR297 
10Jill Kintner (USA)281 
11Céline Gros (Fra) Team Morzine - Avoriaz / Haute - Savoie270 
12Manon Carpenter° (GBr) Madison Saracen235 
13Micayla Gatto (Can)235 
14Mio Suemasa (Jpn)181 
15Miriam Ruchti (Swi)175 
16Jacqueline Harmony (USA)145 
17Miranda Miller (Can)105 
18Jessica Stone (GBr)90 
19Morgane Charre (Fra) Passion Velo Thiers Stemtee85 
20Harriet Rucknagel (Ger)80 
21Anita Ager-Wick (Nor)80 
22Fanny Lombard (Fra)35 
23Joanne Muoser (Swi) SC - Intense30 
24Rika Olivier (RSA)25 
25Joanna Petterson (RSA)20 
26Darian Harvey (USA)20 
27Maria Michalogiannaki (Gre) Unior Tools Team20 
28Katy Curd (GBr)15 
29Gabriela Williams (Cze)15 
30Sandra Reynier° (Fra) CK Racing Santacruz15 
31Anne Laplante (Can)10 
32Emily Horridge (GBr)10 
33Lauren Daney° (USA)5 


Related Articles

Back to top