Olds wins first-ever La Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta

Giorgia Bronzini second, followed by Kirsten Wild in third

American Shelley Olds (Alé-Cipollini-Galassia) overcame a late-race puncture to win the inaugural La Mardrid Challenge by La Vuelta Sunday in a sprint finish ahead of Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda) and Kirsten Wild (Hitec Products).

Olds, who joined Alé-Cipollini from Bigla Pro Cycling in July, jumped up the right-hand side of the road in the finale, coming off Wild’s slipstream and powering across the line to beat Bronzini by more than a bike length.

The race featured multiple cirucits of a 6km course in downtown Madrid, and despite numerous attempt to break up the pack with early attacks, the bunch came to the line mostly together after reeling in a final 13-rider breakaway inside 10km to go.

The peloton took the bell for the final lap together, and the inevitable bunch sprint was on, but Olds, who suffered a puncture as the race ratcheted up for the finish, had to fight her way back to the group with the help of a single teammate. Alé-Cipollini moved Olds into position near the front of the pack, and from there the diminutive American sprinter took over.

Hitec massed near the front to set up Wild, but Olds would not be denied, freelancing her way onto the Hitec sprinter’s wheel before launching her own winning move for the line.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Shelley Olds (USA) Ale Cipollini2:06:21 
2Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda  
3Kirsten Wild (Ned) Hitec Products  
4Roxane Fournier (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
5Lucy Garner (GBr) Team Liv-Plantur  
6Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana  
7Elena Cecchini (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
8Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
9Arianna Fidanza (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
10Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz (Spa) Lointek Team  
11Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) Lointek Team  
12Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products  
13Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Liv-Plantur  
14Lenore Pipes (Gum) Bepink Laclassica  
15Séverine Eraud (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.860:00:40 
16Daniela Reis (Por) POR  
17Ana Usabiaga Balerdi (Spa) ESP  
18Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana  
19Jessenia Meneses (Col) ITAU Shimano Ladies Power Team  
20Ursa Pintar (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana  
21Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
22Eugénie Duval (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
23Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Hitec Products  
24Olena Pavlukhina (Aze) BTC City Ljubljana  
25Rocio Del Alba Garcia Martinez (Spa) ESP  
26Eider Merino Kortazar (Spa) Lointek Team  
27Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Wiggle Honda  
28Andreina Rivera (Col) ITAU Shimano Ladies Power Team  
29Cristina Martinez (Spa) Lointek Team  
30Corinna Lechner (Ger) BTC City Ljubljana  
31Rocio Parrado Guarnizo (Col) ITAU Shimano Ladies Power Team  
32Maria Del Mar Bonnin Palou (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
33Lierni Lekuona Etxebeste (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango  
34Kseniya Tuhai (Blr) Bepink Laclassica  
35Anna Ramirez Bauxel (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango  
36María Calderón (Spa) ESP  
37Kelly Van Den Steen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
38Amélie Rivat (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
39Carlee Taylor (Aus) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
40Nel De Crits (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
41Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango  
42Willeke Knol (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur0:00:12 
43Julia Soek (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur  
44Charlotte Bravard (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
45Greta Richioud (Fra) Poitou-Charentes.Futuroscope.86  
46Teresa Ripoll (Spa) ESP  
47Charlotte Becker (Ger) Hitec Products0:00:15 
48Demmy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo0:00:16 
49Anisha Vekemans (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
50Maria San Jose Tejerina (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
51Chantal Hoffmann (Lux) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
52Evelyn Arys (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
53Alba Teruel Ribes (Spa) Lointek Team0:00:22 
54Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Bepink Laclassica  
55Andreia Alves (Por) POR0:00:24 
56Simona Bortolotti (Ita) Bepink Laclassica  
57Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Ale Cipollini0:00:29 
58Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle Honda0:00:30 
59Beatrice Bartelloni (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
60Tone Hatteland Lima (Nor) Hitec Products0:00:34 
61Coral Casado Ortiz (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango0:00:36 
62Ainara El Busto Arteaga (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango0:00:45 
63Ana Maria Covrig (Rom) Bepink Laclassica  
64Alice Algisi (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
65Jessy Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Pro - Duo  
66Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Ale Cipollini  
67Ilaria Bonomi (Ita) Bepink Laclassica0:00:47 
68Molly Weaver (GBr) Team Liv-Plantur0:01:13 
69Maria Fadiga (Arg) ITAU Shimano Ladies Power Team0:02:05 
70Elisabet Escursell Valero (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango0:03:22 
71Janicke Gunvaldsen (Nor) Hitec Products  
72Anja Rugelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana0:05:03 
73Irene Usabiaga Balerdi (Spa) ESP0:06:11 
DNFGloria Rodriguez Sanchez (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
DNFZiortza Isasi (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
DNFAiala Amesti Bustinzuriaga (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
DNFOlatz Agorria Etxebarria (Spa) BZK Emakumeen Bira  
DNFClaudia Häusler (Ger) Team Liv-Plantur  
DNFBelen Lopez Morales (Spa) Lointek Team  
DNFLieselot Decroix (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies  
DNFIrina Coelho (Por) POR  
DNFLiliana Jesus (Por) POR  
DNFMonica Ines Magro Santos (Por) POR  
DNFAna Sofia Silvestre (Por) POR  
DNFAnna Christian (GBr) Wiggle Honda  
DNFMayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Wiggle Honda  
DNFAne Iriarte (Spa) ESP  

Related Articles

Back to top