Nys wins in the mud

Alberts flats while in the lead

Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet) took advantage of a late puncture that slowed main rival Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) to add the fourth round of the Gazet van Antwerpen Trophy to his impressive palmares. Nys' sixth win at the C1 GP Rouwmoer in Essen, Belgium was his ninth victory of the 2010-2011 season.

“I'm quite surprised to win here. This time the second strongest rider in the race won. Niels was the strongest out there but mechanicals are part of the sport. It must be frustrating for him,” Nys said with honesty.

Albert looked strong and had a clear lead but then flatted during the final lap as he exited a deep mud section. He banged his hand on his handlebars in frustration and then was quickly overtaken by Nys, Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Revor) and Kevin Pauwels (Telenet-Fidea).

“I had a great chance of victory, I was leading the race by 100 metres. I had energy left to go full gas for at least one more lap but 20 metres after the pit I must've hit a stone with my rear wheel...,” Albert said, cursing his bad luck.

Nys and Vantornout both tried accelerations in the final lap and managed to drop Pauwels. A final ride through the sand section near the finish line proved fatal for Vantornout. He bobbled but came back just before the final corner. However Nys got a slight gap when he started his sprint, proving he clearly had the most left in his legs.

Vantornout admitted Nys was stronger than him in the final lap. “The final sprint was no longer a sprint. I rode mine just before the final corner to come back on Nys after my mistake in the sand,” Vantornout said.

“In the sand section I wasn't going flat out because it was impossible to get passed by someone there. It was a matter of being the first at the final corner. Today I've been very lucky because I was more focused on Kevin Pauwels than on the victory. In the end I'm doing a great job for the general classification,” Nys said.

Pauwels was third at nine seconds, with Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) fourth and a frustrated and angry Albert fifth at 42 seconds.

A fast start from Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea) created a ten-man front group after the first lap. Albert missed his start and was in 19th position after the early corners. After the first lap he trailed the ten leaders by eight seconds. Nys kept the pace high up front in order to keep Albert at a distance but also to win the bonus points at the intermediate sprint after two laps. Nys won the sprint taking home three additional points, while Pauwels grabbed two points ahead of team-mate Wellens. After the sprint those three led the race for one and a half laps but they couldn't stop Albert’s comeback. He bridged up with the leaders together with Vantornout, Sven Vanthourenhout (Sunweb-Revor) and Bart Aernouts (Rabo-Giant Offroad).

Vanthourenhout went to the front and behind him Nys wasn't planning to chase his friend down. One lap later Vanthourenhout had 11 seconds on the six chasers but once Albert led the chase it all came back together.

Albert kept going full gas and at the start of the first lap only Nys, Pauwels and Vantornout were able to hold onto his wheel. Vantornout moved up into second place behind leader Albert but halfway through the lap, Vantornout cracked and lost a few bike lengths separated. Albert’s puncture then changed everything and as he struggled with a flat tyre, Nys went on to be the best of the three chasers.

Full Results

Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet1:00:21 
2Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:05 
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:08 
4Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:00:28 
5Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:00:42 
6Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor0:00:50 
7Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team0:01:23 
8Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team  
9Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:24 
10Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team  
11Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:01:58 
12Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus0:02:00 
13Eddy van Ijzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team0:02:04 
14Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:02:18 
15Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team0:02:21 
16Christian Heule (Swi) Champion System LBS0:02:29 
17Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:46 
18Radomir Simunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus0:02:49 
19Tom van den Bosch (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team0:03:18 
20Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team  
21Marco Bianco (Ita)0:03:44 
22Kevin Cant (Bel)0:04:07 
23Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team0:04:17 
24Bart Hofman (Bel)0:05:37 
25Stijn Huys (Bel)0:06:12 
26Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Van Goethem - Prorace0:06:42 
-2lapsMagnus Darvell (Swe)  
-5lapsCandelas Caballero (Spa)  
-5lapsMartin Zlámalík (Cze) Sunweb - Revor  
-5lapsJan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cycling Team  
-5lapsJonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike  
-5lapsJan Verstraeten (Bel) KDL-Trans  
-5lapsMitchell Huenders (Ned) BKCP-Powerplus  
-5lapsRikke Dijkxhoorn (Ned) Van Vliet EBH Elshof  
-5lapsPhilipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus  
Intermediate sprint
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet3 pts
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team2 
3Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team1 
Fastest lap
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:07:17 
2Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:07:18 
3Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:07:19 
Gazet van Antwerpen Trofee Veldrijden Classification after four rounds
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team87 pts
2Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet77 
3Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team70 
4Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team65 
5Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor62 
6Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team60 
7Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus55 
8Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team49 
9Enrico Franzoi (Ita) BKCP-Powerplus44 
9Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team44 
11Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team35 
12Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus32 
13Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor27 
14Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team24 
15Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Rendement Hypo Cycling Team20 
16Tom van den Bosch (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team19 
17Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus18 
18Radomir Simunek Jr. (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus16 
19Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team15 
20Eddy van Ijzendoorn (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team14 
21Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ13 
22Christian Heule (Swi) Champion System LBS11 
23Robert Gavenda (Svk) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team9 
24Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles8 
24Petr Dlask (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team8 
26Thijs Al (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team6 
27Kenneth van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb-Revor3 
27Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team3 
29Romain Villa (Fra)2 
29Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike2 
31Patrick van Leeuwen (Ned)1 
31Marco Bianco (Ita)1 
Intermediate sprint classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet8 pts
2Zdenek Štybar (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team6 
3Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team5 
4Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Revor2 
4Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Rabobank-Giant Off Road Team2 
6Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team1 


Related Articles

Back to top