TechPowered By

More tech

Baystate Cyclo-cross 2013

Date range:
November 30 - December 1, 2013

December 01, Sunday Men:

Durrin takes first victory of season at Sunday's Baystate Cyclo-cross

Chandler Delinks
December 02, 2013, 16:23 GMT,
December 02, 2013, 16:32 GMT

Powers, White complete podium

Jeremy Durrin rounded out the Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies Sunday sweep at the Baystate Cyclo-cross Weekend in Sterling, MA with a solo victory in the UCI C2-rated elite men's race. Saturday's winner, Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) was forced to settle for second place ahead of Saturday's runner-up, Curtis White (Cannondale p/b

Durrin, having seen the danger of getting caught behind riders early in the women's event, went on the offensive shortly after the start and by the end of the first lap he had already opened up a 20-second lead over a small chase group of White, Powers, Anthony Clark (JAM Fund-NCC) and Dan Timmerman (House Industries-Richard Sachs).

Durrin continued to ride flawlessly off the front making it over the hillside cleanly every time. Meanwhile, the riders in the chase group, Powers included, struggled to find the fastest lines, many of them either hitting the deck or being forced to dismount early.

As Durrin continued to maintain his lead of 30 seconds, the four chasers repeatedly attacked one another in hopes of escaping, but nothing seemed to stick. On the fifth lap, however, Timmerman was forced to pit after the barriers and Clark crashed into a post in the off-camber chicanes shortly thereafter. Powers pounced on the opportunity and escaped from Timmerman and White.

Powers continued to try to reel in Durrin, but a tumble on the hillside with three laps remaining allowed Durrin to solidify his lead of more than 30 seconds. Ten seconds behind Powers, however, White and Timmerman were locked in a heated battle for third place.

Durrin rode the remaining three laps cleanly, as he had the entire day, and held on for the win, crossing the line 30 seconds ahead of Powers. White attacked Timmerman on the running track leading to the hillside for the last time and managed to hold him off all the way to the line, finishing 11 seconds behind Powers.

White, when asked about his battle with one of New England's finest veteran racers, said, "Timmerman was so smooth. I've been watching him since I was racing as a 10-12 year old and he was so tough out there today."

After getting his first win of the season, Durrin said, "The beginning of my season was not what I planned, so this feels great. I was comfortable and I felt good," he continued, "so I just tried not to make any mistakes out there."

Full Results
1 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 1:00:33  
2 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 0:00:30  
3 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:00:41  
4 Dan Timmerman (USA) House Industries-Richard Sachs-RGM 0:00:48  
5 Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 0:01:20  
6 Jerome Townsend (USA)'s Garage 0:01:52  
7 Joshua Dillon (USA)'s Garage    
8 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 0:01:58  
9 Daniel Chabanov (USA) House Industries-Richard Sachs-RGM 0:02:03  
10 Sam O'Keefe (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co. 0:02:04  
11 Brendan Rhim (USA) KMS-Start House Cycling Team 0:02:41  
12 Joachim Parbo (Den) Cielo-Challenge-Bicyclista 0:03:25  
13 Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis 0:03:28  
14 Christian Favata (USA) TRT Bicycles p/b Stan's NoTubes 0:03:33  
15 Lewis Gaffney (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 0:04:29  
16 Bradford Perley (USA) Champion System-Canondale 0:04:39  
17 Shawn Milne (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:04:51  
18 Peter Glassford (Can) Trek Canada 0:05:12  
19 Travis Livermon (USA) Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis 0:06:04  
20 Evan Murphy (USA) NYC Velo p/b The Cannibal 0:06:11  
21 Jesse Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:07:37  
22 Charles Schubert (USA) GPM Sport  -2laps  
23 Colin Reuter (USA)  -3laps  
24 Michael Wissell (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2    
25 Aaron Oakes (USA) NYCross-Vomax  -4laps  
26 Alec Hoover (USA) Favata's TRT p/b Stan's NoTubes    
27 Thierry Laliberte (Can) Xprezo - Borsao    
28 Max Judelson (USA) Giant Cycling World Boston    
29 Devin Wagner (USA) p/b Vomax    
30 Ian Schon (USA) CUPPOW-Geekhouse-B2C2  -5laps  
31 Sean Pantellere (USA) STAMPEDE! p/b Budd Bike Works    
32 Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective    
33 Jules Goguely (USA) Rhode Island School of Design    
34 Andrew Loaiza (USA) RMRC    
35 Jesse Quagliaroli (USA) Expowheelmen    
36 Matthew Means (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.    
37 Kurt Belhumeur (USA) Stampede!    
38 Michael James (USA) Prima Tappa  -6laps  
39 Arthur Moran (USA) Green Line Velo driven by Zipcar