Cliff-Ryan sprints to victory at Women’s Kugler Open

Van Gilder continues consistency with second place finish

Theresa Cliff-Ryan won her second consecutive Women’s Kugler Open at the Tour of Somerville held Memorial Day Monday in New Jersey. She out-paced the legendary Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) in second and Lenore Pipes (Guam National Team) in third.

"It was an important race for us because Colavita is from New Jersey," said Colavita/Forno D’Asolo DS Rachel Heal. "John Profaci [Vice President of Colavita, USA] was around today watching the race."

The women’s event is not apart of the National Racing Calendar (NRC), however, it offered a top-notch race for the Pro-Cat 1,2 and 3 50-rider field. The event's four corner circuit started on West Main Street and finished with a nearly 500 metre drag to the line.

"It used to be an NRC race but it hasn’t been for the last couple of years," Heal said. "That meant that there wasn’t a huge incentive for full teams to come down to race."

Although there was a lack of full teams competing, there was a quality field that consisted of riders from Team Type 1 and riders from the regions surrounding New Jersey. Such riders included Van Gilder along with Kacey Manderfield (Pure Energy Cycle), Christine Fennessy (South Mountain Cycles), Colleen Gulick (Kenda) among others.

The race was aggressive with relentless attacks, however, no breakaway stuck for longer than a lap and in the end the peloton set up for a bunch sprint led by Colavita/Forno D’Asolo, including its UCI World Champion from Italy Giorgia Bronzini.

"Theresa and Giorgia were swapping things around to try and not make it obvious what they were doing," Heal said. "Giorgia wore her world champions jersey and the race organizers were happy to have her there because it was the first time the race had a world champion compete."

Full Results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo)0:47:54.6 
2Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom)  
3Lenore Pipes (Guam National Team)  
4Giorgia Bronzini (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo)  
5Christine Fennessy (South Mountain Cycles)  
6Barbara Guarashi (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo)  
7Erin Silliman (Virginia Asset Group p/b Artem)  
8Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1)  
9Kacey Manderfield (Pure Energy Cycling Team ProAi)  
10Colleen Gulick (Team Kenda)  
11Lisa Jellett (Verducci)  
12Genevieve Whitson (MVP Health Care Cycling)  
13Kacy Wander (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
14Kimberly Edwards (CVC/Subaru of New England)  
15Jessica Chong (Morgan Stanley Cycling Team)  
16Elizabeth Bonilla (Pro Pedals)  
17Victoria Hanks (Human Zoom Cycling)  
18Rebecca Chan (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
19Kaitlyn Lawerence (MVP Health Care Cycling Team)  
20Eun Young Choi (Stage5/Cycling Fusion)  
21Anna Young (MVP Health Care Cycling)  
22Patricia Black (Red Racing)  
23Thea Parent (Human Zoom)  
24Sarah Iepson (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
25Robin Meidhof (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
26Kate Evans1 (Team Type 1)  
27Lauren Shirock (WBI Funds Cycling Team)  
28Elizabeth Renner (CRCA/NYVelocity Women's Racing)  
29Mandy Marquardt (Team Type 1)  
30Andrea Luebbe (Human Zoom / Pabst Blue Ribbon)  
31Amy Cutler (Team EPS/CSS p/b Shebell & She)  
32Becca Schepps (Team Type 1)  
33Bianca Grecu (Human Zoom Cycling)  
34Lindsay Honaker  
35Patricia Marzi (Alliance Environmental)  
36Tracy Wargo (CRCA/Chomper Body Racing)  
37Nadia Latzgo (Young Medalists/ Team Rothrock)  
38Kristy Swope (Team EPS/CSS p/b Shebell & She)  
39Molly Hurford (Rockstar Games/Signature Cycli)  
40Julia Lonchar  
41Kristine Church (Humanzoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon)  
42Jennifer Bollinger (Tean Alliance Environmental)  
43Catherine Cheatley (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo p/b Coo)  
44Morgan Patton (Team Type 1)  
45Andrea Maher (Team EPS/CSS p/b Shebell & She)  
46Arley Kemmerer (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
47Jennifer Rasmusson (Team Kenda p/b Geargrinder)  
48Melissa Garcia (Team Alliance Environmental)  
49Jacqueline Paull (watchung wheelmen/high gear cy)  
50Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo)  
51Tricia Carnila (Verducci Breakaway)  
52Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo)  
53Kelley Bethoney (Pallas Athene Womens Racing Team)  
54Michelle Bishop (Cadence Cannondale Women's Racing)  
55Caryl Gale (Denos Wonder Wheel)  
56Michelle Hart (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
57Kyleanne Hunter (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
58Emily Joyner (VA Asset Group p/b Artemis/Tre)  
59Emily Joyner (VA Asset Group p/b Artemis/Tre)  
60Cassandra King (Tri-State Velo/Amoroso's Cycli)  
61Cheryl Wolf (Signature Cycles/Rockstar Game)  
62Sarah Burkett (Team Type 1)  
63Dana Cuomo (Team Thru It All)  
64Alaina Gurski (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
65Lenore Imhof (Colavita Racing)  
66Leah Oppenheimer (CAWES p/b Specialized)  
67Jory Wamsley (Team Alliance Environmental)  
68Tracy Lea (T.E.A.M. Fuji)  


Back to top