Koren takes first pro victory

Visconti, Ginanni round out top three

Kristian Koren (Liquigas-Doimo) took his first win as a professional at the Gran Premio di Camaiore on Saturday. The 23-year-old Slovenian outsprinted Italian champion Giovanni Visconti (ISD Neri) and Francesco Ginanni (Androni) to take the prestigious event, traditionally the beginning of the Italian peloton’s build-up to the World Championships.

A six-man move broke clear on the penultimate lap, composed of Koren, Visconti and Ginanni as well as Riccardo Chiarini (De Rosa-Stac Plastic), Paolo Ciavatta (Acqua & Sapone) and Leonardo Bertagnolli (Androni). The sextet quickly built up a winning lead over the chasing pack, and a tactical final lap saw a flurry of attacks. Eventually, it all came down to the sprint, and it was the young Koren who held his nerve to time his effort to perfection and take the spoils.

“I’m very excited about my first win as a professional,” Koren said afterwards. The Slovenian credited his exceptional form to the hard racing he put in during his Tour de France debut in July.

“When I got home, I didn’t take a break but rather I worked to maintain my condition,” Koren explained. “The route today was very suited to my characteristics. In the event of a sprint, I knew I’d have a good chance. 100 metres from the line, I found the right time and space, and that’s how I won.”

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kristijan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Doimo4:30:00 
2Giovanni Visconti (Ita) ISD - Neri  
3Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
4Riccardo Chiarini (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
5Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
6Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
7Giairo Ermeti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:00:34 
8Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Androni Giocattoli  
9Fabio Terrenzio (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
10Daniele Colli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
11Daniele Callegarin (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
12Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
13Aristide Ratti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
14Volodymyr Starchyk (Ukr) Amore & Vita - Conad  
15Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
16Bartosz Huzarski (Pol) ISD - Neri  
17Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
18Antonio Quadranti (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
19Simone Stortoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF INOX  
20Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
21Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
22Davide Torosantucci (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere0:01:00 
23Riccardo Ricco (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia0:01:30 
24Cristiano Fumagalli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia  
25Aleksandr Kuschynski (Blr) Liquigas-Doimo  
26Matteo Montaguti (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
27Michele Gaia (Ita) Colnago - CSF INOX  
28Sergio Lagana (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
29Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
30Alessandro Bisolti (Ita) Colnago - CSF INOX  
31Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
32Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
33Diego Caccia (Ita) ISD - Neri  
34Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) ISD - Neri  
35Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
36Alberto Contoli (Ita) Colnago - CSF INOX  
37Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) Carmiooro NGC  
38Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) CDC - Cavaliere  
39Giogrio Brambilla (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  
40Sebastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) Carmiooro NGC  
41Cristiano Salerno (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic0:03:00 
42Fabio Taborre (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
43Simon Clarke (Aus) ISD - Neri  
44Giogrio Brambilla (Ita) De Rosa - Stac Plastic  


Back to top