Australian squads for Manchester World Cup revealed

Meares, Goss to lead young squad

Australia’s Kaarle McCulloch will join the Australian National Team for this week’s International Cycling Union (UCI) Track World Cup opener in Manchester, England. The Team Jayco rider will join the national team in order to pair with fellow women’s team sprint world champion Anna Meares in their race.

McCulloch isn’t the only Team Jayco rider to start the season in the Australian National Team colours, with Shane Perkins also switching squads for Manchester. Cycling Australia has structured the teams in this way so they can place more male riders in the sprint events than would be possible if Perkins were to start for Team Jayco.

The Australian National Team’s roster features the best of the nation’s upcoming generation of track riders. Amongst them is Track World Cup round winner in the Madison and team pursuit Glenn O’Shea and 20-year-old Omnium World Champions Josephine Tomic and Leigh Howard.

With McCulloch and Perkins’ temporary move to the Australian National Team, just three riders will be entered for Team Jayco. They include 21-year-old Oceania Team Spring Champions Daniel Ellis and Scott Sunderland plus 26-year-old Jason Niblett.

Australian rosters for Manchester Track World Cup:
Australian National Team:
Tess Downing, Belinda Goss, Leigh Howard, Kaarle McCulloch, Anna Meares, Glenn O'Shea, Shane Perkins and Josephine Tomic.
Team Jayco: Daniel Ellis, Jason Niblett and Scott Sunderland.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Related Articles

Back to top