Women's Tour of California 2016

Latest News from the Race

Women's Tour of California - Overview

Kirsten Wild (Hitec Products) made it back-to-back wins for Dutch riders on the fourth and final stage of the Women's Tour of California, winning the sprint finish ahead of Lisa Brennauer (Canyon-SRAM) and Marianne Vos (Rabo-Liv).


Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) finished in the front group to secure overall victory and move into the lead on the Women's WorldTour standings.


The American national road champion finished 17 seconds ahead of Kristin Armstrong (Twenty16 - Ridebiker) while teammate Evelyn Stevens was third at 28 seconds.


Guarnier also won the points classification with Mara Abbott winning the mountains classification, Chloe Dygert was the best young rider and Twenty16 - Ridebiker the top team.


Watch the Women's Tour of California stage 4 highlights video.



Women's Tour of California stage 4 - Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kirsten Wild (Ned) Hitec Products1:35:10
2Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Canyon-SRAMRow 1 - Cell 2
3Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Coryn Rivera (USA) UnitedHealthcare WomenRow 3 - Cell 2
5Amy Pieters (Ned) Wiggle High5Row 4 - Cell 2
6Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Cylance Pro CyclingRow 5 - Cell 2
7Ruth Winder (USA) USA National TeamRow 6 - Cell 2
8Ilaria Sanguineti (Ita) BepinkRow 7 - Cell 2
9Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl) Tibco-Silicon Valley BankRow 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team8:00:31
2Kristin Armstrong (USA) Twenty16 - Ridebiker0:00:17
3Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:28
4Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:42
5Leah Thomas (USA) Twenty16 - Ridebiker0:00:56
6Chloe Dygert (USA) Twenty16 - Ridebiker0:00:49
7Katie Hall (USA) UnitedHealthcare Women0:01:01
8Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High50:01:02
9Coryn Rivera (USA) UnitedHealthcare Women0:01:07
10Lauren Stephens (USA) Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank0:01:25

Race Preview

The Women's Tour of California will mark the eighth round of the new Women's WorldTour, and the first race of the series held in the US. Held from May 19-22, the race will, for the first time, include four stages; a road race in South Lake Tahoe, a team time trial in Folsom, a road race in Santa Rosa; and a finale circuit race in Sacramento.


World Champion Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans), who is not scheduled to race at the Women's Tour of California, is leading the Women's WorldTour standings after the first seven rounds, of which she has won three: Strade Bianche, Trofeo Alfredo Binda-Cittiglio, and the Tour of Flanders. Her teammate Chantal Blaak won rounds two and four at Ronde van Drenthe and Gent-Wevelgem. Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) won La Flèche Wallonne and Chloe Hosking (Wiggle High5) won the Tour of Chongming Island.


Armitstead currently has 368 points, ahead of Blaak with 343, while Megan Guarnier and Emma Johansson (Wiggle High5) each have 325 points.


The opening stage will offer a 117km road race, one loop around in South Lake Tahoe. For the first time, the women will contest a 20.3km team time trial on stage 2 in Folsom. Stage 3 is routed along a 111km loop that will include a queen of the mountain climb over Coleman Valley Road and three finishing circuits in Santa Rosa. The women’s Tour of California will end with a 20-lap circuit race, totalling 66km, in Sacramento.


Trixi Worrack won the 2015 Women's Tour of California, sealing the overall victory at the end of the three-day race in Sacramento. She won by five seconds over Leah Kirchmann and six seconds over Lauren Komanski.


2015 Women's Tour of California | 2014 Women's Tour of California | 2013 Women's Tour of California



2015 Women's Tour of California - top 10 overall

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Trixi Worrack (Ger) Velocio - SRAM6:24:16
2Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:00:05
3Lauren Komanski (USA) Twenty 16 p/b Sho-Air0:00:06
4Katharine Hall (USA) Unitedhealthcare Professional Cycling Team0:00:16
5Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Velocio - SRAM0:00:26
6Flavia Oliveira (Bra) Ale Cipollini0:00:35
7Alison Jackson (Can) Twenty 16 p/b Sho-Air0:00:41
8Lauren Stephens (USA) Team Tibco - SVB0:00:42
9Lex Albrecht (Can) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:00:54
10Andrea Dvorak (USA) Twenty 16 p/b Sho-Air0:01:03


Top News on the Race

Related Features